Finding books
-
UBC Summon on the library homepageFind library books, journals, journal articles, dissertations, and more.
-
UBC Library catalogueSearch books and journals held at the library.
In the library catalogue, search for a biography of the person you are writing about by using their name as the Subject keyword. You may find established subject headings for the person, such as:
If you are unable to find a book using this method, switch to the default Keyword (relevance ranked) searching. This is because not all books include subject terms in their catalogue records.
Finding journal articles
Use the following databases to find scholarly articles in Japanese.
-
CiNii ResearchCinii provides bibliographic information for articles published in Japanese journals from the 1950s to present. Use your keywords to locate particular articles that are relevant to your subject. Although many articles are available in full text, several are only accessible in print. Check the UBC Library Catalogue to see if the Library has the print or email your librarian for assistance.
-
J-StageJ-STAGE is an electronic journal platform developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-Stage promotes open access and 90+% of articles from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and others, are free to read.
-
Zassaku Plus ざっさくプラスA comprehensive index for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present.
Finding newspaper articles
Use the following newspaper databases to find news articles on your topic. Both databases also include biographical information. To access it, select 人物 in the Asahi database or 現代人名録 in the Yomiuri database.
-
Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチA newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from Aera, Shūkan Asahi, Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
-
Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) ヨミダスThis database includes full-text Yomiuri Shinbun articles from 1874 to the present, as well as the English-language The Daily Yomiuri from 1989.
