X̱wi7x̱wa Library Guide
Featured Article
- Administering Colonial ScienceMosby, I. (2013). Administering Colonial Science: Nutrition Research and Human Biomedical Experimentation in Aboriginal Communities and Residential Schools, 1942–1952. Histoire sociale/Social history 46(1), 145-172. Les publications Histoire sociale / Social History Inc.
Why Databases?
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
- Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you will retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
- Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.
The following databases are useful for finding articles related to the Indian Residential School System in Canada. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies in the above box, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you expected within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.
Education Databases
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)Indexes over 980 education journals. First Nations titles include Winds of Change, American Indian Higher Education, Tribal College, Cultural Survival Quarterly, and Wicazo Sa. Search terms for 'Aboriginal': Canada Natives, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Eskimos and Indigenous populations. Search terms: boarding schools. For example search: canada natives and boarding schools. Use the Thesaurus for more precise terms.
History & Culture Databases
- America: History & Life (1964-present)History of Canada and the United States from prehistory to the present. Includes over 1,700 journals. Search terms for 'aboriginal': Native American, First Nations, Indigenous people, Indian, Aboriginal. Subject search terms: boarding schools; and keyword: "residential school*"
- Bibliography of Native North AmericaIndexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, dissertations, US government articles, and ethnography. Includes some materials on Indian residential schools, for example, from the First Nations press (Windspeaker, Saskatchewan Sage, et al), scholarly journals, and popular journals. Subject perspectives on the residential school system includes, health, social work, law, arts. Try keyword "residential school*", and subject terms, truth and reconciliation commission; off-reservation boarding schools (for U.S. coverage), healing circles.
General Databases
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles. Subject Terms: First Nations, Métis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations. Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches. For residential schools, also try searching the phrase: off-reserve boarding schools.
- Alternative Press IndexIndexes 450 alternative, radical and left publications. Aboriginal titles include: Akwe:kon Journal (title changed to Native Americas) ; Akwesasne Notes, and American Indian Rights Center.
- CBCA Complete (Canadian Business, Reference & Current Affairs)Indexes academic periodicals, special interest publications, and newspapers, including the Aboriginal press: Windspeaker, Kahtou, Aboriginal Nurse. Search terms: Indigenous peoples, Native peoples, Métis, Native Americans and Inuit. For Residential Schools, try: "Residential School", "Truth and Reconciliation".
- First Nations Periodical IndexMainly First Nations/Aboriginal Canadian content. Searchable index of 20 Aboriginal newspapers, magazines and periodicals (Note: last updated April 2004).
- Project MuseFull-text collection of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals. Use the "Advanced Search" to narrow down your results. Search terms: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal.
- JSTOR CollectionFull-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Searches can result in hundreds or thousands of hits, so use the "Advanced Search" to narrow your search down. Search terms: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal.