Keywords
Here are some selected keywords to use when searching for articles and books on consumers. Try several searches and as you search, you will probably find even more terms that are appropriate:
- Audience profile
- Audiences
- Baby boomers
- Behavioral decision theory
- Buying
- Children & youth
- Consumer attitudes
- Consumer behavior
- Consumer spending
- Consumers
- Clients
- Couples
- Customers
- Demographics
- Generation X
- Generation Y
- Impulse buying
- Industrial markets
- Market segmentation
- Market segments
- Millennials
- Niche marketing
- Niche markets
- Product choice
- Social conditions & trends
- Target markets
- Target marketing
- User spending
Additional Article Databases
To find articles on consumers and consumer behaviour, use Business Article Databases, or search these additional databases:
- ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 980 educational and education-related journals. Useful for searching for information on students at all levels.
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive source for scholarly literature in psychology. Useful for identifying studies on human behaviour.
Market Research Databases
The library subscribes to commercial market research databases that provide analysis on consumers and their behaviour:
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowMarket research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports for consumer products and groups, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new windowInternational statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
- Vividata This link opens in a new windowData on Canadian consumers, print readership, product usage and lifestyles. (Formerly Print Measurement Bureau)
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
Books
Use the Library catalogue to identify books contained within UBC Library. Use subject headings, like:
New Books on Consumer Behaviour
Public Opinion
Public opinion polls and surveys can be useful tools in assessing opinions on both broad and specific issues.
- Cornell Institute for Social and Economic ResearchProvides links to sites containing questions on a specific topic or an entire survey or a questionnaire.
- GallupSearch this website for news releases and additional resources from Gallup.
- IpsosLinks to Canadian, U.S. and international polls. Includes polls on consumer goods.
- Polling the NationsProvides the full text of survey questions and responses covering a broad range of issues, from polling groups such as Gallup, Harris, Roper, and more than 700 other organizations.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchPreserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations for the use of researchers, students, and journalists. Includes a section on how to analyze polls.
Seniors
- Canadian Social Trends: Seniors and AgingSubjects include eldercare, online activities and retirement plans.
- Aging Related StatisticsUS Federal Inter-Agency Forum, AgingStats.gov
- Talkin’ ‘bout my generation: Exploring age-related resourcesAssociation of College and Research Libraries. C&RL News, July/August 2009, 70:7