First Nations and Indigenous Studies
Terminology Resources
"Aboriginal peoples in Canada self-identify and are defined by the state [...] these two systems of definition, one based in law and legislation, the other in family tradition and community practice, are frequently in conflict." (From Indigenous Foundations).
- Guide to BC First Nations' Traditional Territories (BC Ministry of Aboriginal Relations & Reconciliation)Names of BC First Nations with pronunciation guide. (2007).
- First Nations, Métis, and Inuit – Indigenous Ontology (FNMIIO)First draft of a working list of Indigenous Names to better reflect how Indigenous people currently prefer to refer to themselves, this is a living document. Released through the National Indigenous Knowledge and Language Alliance (NIKLA) and CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee – Red Team Joint Working Group on Classification and Subject Headings.
- Indigenous Peoples: Language Guidelines Version 2.0 (UBC)Addresses terminology, acknowledgement, and recognition. Includes a resource list. (Updated October 2018).
- Glossary of Terms: A-Z ( University of Manitoba Indigenous Student Centre)Series of 26 pamphlets (in PDF format) that answer frequently ask questions, including about terminology.
- Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal PeoplesSee "A Note on Terminology." Vol 1. p. xiv-xv. (online). (1996).
- Who Are Canada's Aboriginal Peoples?: Recognition, Definition, and Jurisdiction / edited by Paul L.A.H. ChartrandLegal and political issues related to the identity and rights of Aboriginal peoples in Canada. Published in Saskatoon, SK: Purich Pub. (2002).
- Terminology Guide: Research on Aboriginal Heritage (From Library and Archives Canada)List of historical and contemporary terms that may be useful for library and archival research (2012).
- Words First (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada)Brief overview of legal definitions. (October 2002).
- Guide to the Pronunciation of Indigenous Communities and Organizations in BCGuide published by the BC provincial government for the pronunciation of Indigenous communities, nations and organizations in BC. (September 2018).
- United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues "Who are indigenous people?" factsheetA short document that briefly discusses the term "indigenous" and the questions of identity associated with the term.
- Indigenous Peoples Language GuideCreated in partnership with the First Nations House of Learning; information on how to navigate the terminology and meanings associated with Indigenous peoples in order to produce the best — and most respectful — communication results.
Terminology Guides for Journalists and Broadcasters
"If you are unsure about names and terms, ask the Aboriginal people you’re reporting on which term they prefer." (From Reporting in Indigenous Communities).
- Key Terminology Guidebook (Strategic Alliance of Broadcasters for Aboriginal Reflection)Addresss topics of identity and citizenship; culture and traditions; governance; and rights, policy, and politics. (2012).
- Lexicon and Terminology (Reporting in Indigenous Communities)Includes discussion of the terms: Tribal Affiliation, Indian, Native, Aboriginal, First Nations, and Indigenous.
- Style Guide for Reporting on Indigenous People (Journalists for Human Rights)Includes sections on Indigenous People in Canada, First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and Two Spirit People. Please note that the Inuit section of this guide contains several errors that have been replicated in the Canadian Press Stylebook. (December 2017).
Search Tip
When searching for information using the UBC Library Catalogue, Summon, or databases, remember that names of Indigenous nations and languages often change over time and spellings may vary. You may need to conduct multiple searches using a variety of search terms to find information about a particular Indigenous nation or language.
Changes Over Time
- Names of languages change over time and also vary by different groups and academic disciplines.
For example: Dane-zaa Záágéʔ is also called the Beaver language.
For example: Dakelh is also called the Carrier language.
- Names of dialects also vary.
For example: Plains Cree is also known as the Y-dialect or Nehiyawewin.
Spelling Variations
- Consider spelling variations, especially for languages that have had multiple (or no) written systems.
- Classification systems in libraries and archives might use different spellings and ordering systems.
For example: Stó:lō, Stó:lô, Stó:lõ, Stahlo, Staulo, Stolo, Stohlo, Sto:lo (group of people)
For example: Tsuut’ina, Sarcee, Sarsi, Tsuu T’ina, Tsu T’ina, Tsúùtínà (language)
The First Peoples' Language Map of British Columbia maintains a First Nations Index, which includes current and other names of nations, and a Language Index, which includes current and other names of languages.