TIP: Limit your results to journal articles by selecting Content Type: Journal Article (under "Refine Your Search" on the left-hand side of the screen). You can also filter by publication date, academic discipline, and language; limit your result to peer reviewed publications; and exclude certain formats (e.g. newspapers) from your results.
TIP: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "First Nations"). Use an asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Curric* retrieves Curriculum, Curricula, Curricular, etc.).
To find journal articles, theses, and reviews, search for your topics in Summon - the first search that appears on the UBC Library homepage
Guided Keyword Searches through Summon
1) Combine a Keyword for the concept of "Indigenous" with another Keyword for the concept of Education:
2). Add a third Keyword to introduce specific subjects:
3). Select "Journal Article" from the search filters in the toolbar to the left:
You can also search Summon in more depth through the Advanced Search function. This includes optional AND, OR, and NOT fields, as well as the ability to filter by publication date, content type, discipline, and language, to limit your result to peer reviewed publications, and to exclude certain formats (newspapers, reviews, etc) from your results.
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase
Example: "First Nations", "ice fishing"
Use a question mark to truncate a term to search words with the same stem.
Example: curric? searches curriculum, curricula, etc
For more information on terminology, please consult X̱wi7x̱wa's Aboriginal Studies guide to Terminology.
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies listed on the books & media tab, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you expected within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.
Though these databases might not focus specifically on education, they can have useful articles for your research.