BUSINESS INFORMATION REPORT
Tips
- Ensure that there is information available before you start writing.
- Make sure you've given yourself enough time to do the research AND the writing.
 |
|
Image: new1mproved |
About the Business Information Report
The Business Information assignment requires you to explore a company that is operating in British Columbia and to write a report about its current state and future potential. Choose from the following list of companies:
Note: Librarians have prepared quick-start company guides for the above-listed companies (click on the company name to be redirected to the guide). If you choose to write about another company, you must submit your candidate to your instructor for approval, and a quick-start company profile may not be provided. Check our company research guide for more quick-start profiles - each company has different information available, so you'll need to make sure you have enough content for your assignment.
Example Company: A&W Food Services of Canada
You have chosen A&W Food Services of Canada, based in North Vancouver as your company.
Company Websites
- www.aw.ca
- www.awincomefund.ca - corporate website for A&W Revenue Royalties Income Fund. Investors page has current and historical financial reports.
Regulatory Filings
- Available on www.sedar.com (search database for A&W)
Company Profiles in Commercial Business Databases
- Hoover's Company Records database and Passport GMID database
Strengths/Weaknesses Analysis
- Find SWOT analyses in databases such as Business Source Ultimate. For A&W, a SWOT is available in LexisNexis Academic database.
Popular and scholarly articles
- Magazine, trade journal and newspaper articles about A&W restaurants in Canadian Newsstand+CBCA databases.
Industry & Market Research reports
- Search industry and market research databases for industry overviews, such as Fast Food in Canada from Passport GMID, or Fast Food Restaurants in the US, from IbisWorld
