Media, Communication, and Misinformation
UBC Library provides access to many research articles, books, and theses on climate change journalism. Use our search tools or explore journalism resources to find and access these resources.
Associations and organizations which explore media coverage of climate change
- Covering Climate NowCovering Climate Now is a global journalism initiative committed to more and better coverage of the defining story of our time.
Misinformation and disinformation on climate change has been a core impediment to action. Misinformation has recently posed substantial threats to democratic systems and public health responses to COVID-19, but the organized spread of misinformation on climate change has been even greater in terms of scale, longevity, and risk.
- UBC Experts GuideAn information source that gives journalists access to UBC's expertise.
- Climate Feedback"Climate Feedback is a worldwide network of scientists sorting fact from fiction in climate change media coverage. Our goal is to help readers know which news to trust."
Images
For images that are evidence-based and focused on making climate change relatable and compelling, see Climate Visuals.
Terminology
Writing an Effective Op-Ed
- Workshops from UBC Library and the Centre for Writing and Scholarly CommunicationCan include workshops on writing and publishing op-eds, placing FOI requests, and other relevant topics. Offerings vary so check back for new workshops.
Newspaper Databases
Major online full text newspaper databases.
- ClimateWire: The Politics and Business of Climate Change This link opens in a new windowPart of E&E. ClimateWire provides coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. For more information, see About ClimateWire.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's premier fulltext news, government, legal, finance and business information services. Research international news, corporate and legal materials.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowFull text of the NYT from 1851 to the current [with three year embargo.] View articles and full page of every issue in this time period.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail This link opens in a new windowElectronic full-page newspaper archive from June 1844 to 2013.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London).
News Focused on Climate
Climate change and related issues are news everywhere but journalistic partnerships like the Climate Desk Collaboration and the select news feeds and databases listed below provide an easy way to explore climate in the news.
- Climate Desk CollaborationClimate Desk is a journalistic collaboration dedicated to exploring the impact - human, environmental, economic, political - of a changing climate.
Local News Media - Climate News Feeds
International News Media - Climate News Feeds and Databases
Social Media & Newsletters
Many climate scientists, organizations, and activists connect and share information and resources with each other and the public on social media. Others use newsletters, videos, and podcasts. Despite issues with misinformation, these platforms can be valuable tools for science communication and networking, as well as updates about developing current events.
Twitter Lists
The following are curated lists of people focused on climate. You can create your own lists, subscribe to lists created by others, or view lists to see tweets only from people on the list.
Newsletters