Databases
You can search any database for articles related to climate change. The following is a list of databases with an environmental sciences focus. For works addressing climate change in other fields you might like to start with the core databases in that field, which you can find listed in our research guides. See the search terms below for ideas on what to search.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (AESD) This link opens in a new windowThe Agricultural & Environmental Science database (AESD) facilitates in-depth research and comprehensive literature reviews across the earth, atmospheric & aquatic sciences. Includes Agricola.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowApproximately 300,000 articles on green issues, including green building, global warming, etc.
- Global Environmental Justice Collection This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries related to Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion, gender studies and the humanities.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, and data sheets on agriculture, animal health, crop protection, forestry, global health, human nutrition, horticulture, and natural resources management. Includes Cab Abstracts & Global Health databases.
- TOXNET This link opens in a new windowUnified interface of US National Library of Medicine's (NLM) databases in toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Search Filters & Terms
Select search terms to help get started:
- climate justice
- climate action
- climate change mitigation
- biodiversity
- sustainable development
- fossil fuels / emissions / fossil gases / oil and gas / greenhouse gases / GHG
- climate change / climatic changes
- global heating / global warming / global temperature change
- global environmental change / environmental change
- atmospheric change
- greenhouse effect
Search tools that can be used in many databases:
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Example: "climate change" - Use asterisks to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem.
Example: climat* retrieves climate, climatic, climates
Search filters are pre-tested strategies used to find research in database searches. Search filters are often designed to meet certain standards or guidelines and can help increase the chance of finding relevant materials. Please cite filters when using them (most will be published in journal articles or will provide a citation that you can use).
- University of Alberta Library - Search FiltersIncludes search filters on climate change, environment/pollution, or food security for various databases