Skip to Main Content

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

Article Citation Overview

Notes and Bibliography System:

  • Quick Guide examples for journal articles from Chicago. Detailed journal (also known as periodical) citation rules. 
  • Include the page number of the citation in the notes, and the full page range in the bibliography
  • Use a DOI (digital object identifier) as the preferred link to the article. If a DOI is unavailable, use the URL (uniform resource locator)
  • Titles of journals should be italicized if referred to in the text. Example: Journal of the Institute for the Humanities
  • If the article has eleven or more authors, list only the first author in the note, followed by et.al. In the bibliography, list the first seven, followed by et.al. 

In a shortened note include the author's last name only, a shortened version of the title (usually the first two or three words) and the page number of the exact citation, rather than the page range of the article.

In a full note, include all of the citation details with elements of the citation separated by commas rather than periods. Include the page number of the exact citation, rather than the page range of the article.

In the bibliography, invert the first author's name so that the last name appears first. Organize the bibliography by the author's last names. Separate elements of the citation by periods instead of commas. Include the full page range of the article.

Journal article (1-3 authors)

For one to three authors, list all names in the notes and bibliography.

Shortened note 

1. Simpson, Walcott, and Coulthard, "Idle no More," 76.

Note 

1. Simpson, Leanne Betasamosake, Rinaldo Walcott, and Glen Coulthard. "Idle no More and Black Lives Matter: An Exchange (Panel Discussion)." Studies in Social Justice 12, no. 1 (2018): 76. https://doi.org/10.26522/ssj.v12i1.1830

Bibliography 

Simpson, Leanne Betasamosake, Rinaldo Walcott, and Glen Coulthard. "Idle no More and Black Lives Matter: An Exchange (Panel Discussion)." Studies in Social Justice 12, no. 1 (2018): 75-89. https://doi.org/10.26522/ssj.v12i1.1830

Journal article (4-10 authors)

If the article has four to ten authors, list only the first author in the note, followed by et.al. In the bibliography, list up to ten authors.

Shortened note

2. Hoffman et al. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective," 600.

Note

2. Louis Hoffman et al. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective," Journal of Humanistic Psychology 56, no. 6 (2016): 600, https://doi-org.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/10.1177/0022167816652273

Bibliography

Hoffman, Louis, Nathaniel Granger, Jr., Lisa Vallejos, and Michael Moats. "An Existential-Humanistic Perspective on Black Lives Matter and Contemporary Protest Movements." Journal of Humanistic Psychology 56, no. 6 (2016): 595-611. https://doi-org.ezproxy.library.ubc.ca/10.1177/0022167816652273.