Anesthesia

Vancouver Style citations should follow these guidelines:

• Always cite sources when what you've written is not "common knowledge"; when you are using someone else's ideas or data (even when paraphrasing or not using their exact words); or when you are quoting your own written work (self-citation). 
• In-text citations are identified using a superscript Arabic numeral, e.g. xxxx¹ (1 = a citation on your reference list).
• References are cited consecutively in the order they appear in your document, NOT alphabetically (as is done in other citation styles such as APA).
• Up to 6 authors are listed in a reference; when a reference has 7 or more authors, list only the first three followed by "et al." 
• Authors should be identified by their surname, followed by first and middle initials (when provided), e.g. Smith J, Johnson ME.
• Journal titles are abbreviated in the reference, e.g. Am J Cardiol for the American Journal of Cardiology. Journal abbreviations can be found through the Pubmed Journals Database. When the journal cannot be found on Pubmed, consult these rules.
• Include the DOI for the reference when choosing to provide a link. When the DOI is not available, use a "permanent link" or "stable URL" as these are less likely to break over time. 
• Public sources should always be preferred over citing "personal communication." When necessary, cite the name of the person and the date of your communication using parentheses in the text of your document. Always obtain written permission from your source and fact check the information obtained during your communication before including it in your work.

The following are examples for citing major drug information and EBM databases using Vancouver Style. Some databases have citation generators, while others will need to be created from scratch. Always proofread citations generated automatically, and check with your instructor to verify citation practices.

Dates should be in this format: [YYYY - Month abbreviated to 3 letters - date in digits]; example: 2022 Mar 3. Note that it may not be possible to find the date that a database or website was last updated, or publication year - if that's the case, leave out that information.

CPS

For a chapter in Therapeutic Choices or Minor Ailments online:

Golian M, Klein A. Supraventricular tachycardia. In: CPS: therapeutic choices. Ottawa: Canadian Pharmacists Association [updated 2021 Mar 12; cited 2023 Jan 18]. Available from: https://cps.pharmacists.ca. Subscription required.
 
For a monograph in CPS:

CPS: Drug Information. Paxlovid [drug monograph]. Ottawa: Canadian Pharmacists Association. [updated 2022 Dec 8; cited 2023 Jan 18]. Available from: https://cps.pharmacists.ca. Subscription required.

Lexicomp Online

The following is a standard template for citing drug records from Lexicomp Online:

Drug Name. In: Specific Lexicomp Online Database [database on the Internet]. Hudson (OH): Lexicomp Inc.: publication year [updated Year Month Day; cited Year Month Day]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com. Subscription required to view.

UpToDate

UpToDate topics should be cited as an electronic book chapter (with the book title being UpToDate). This does not include page numbers, and the current year is used as the publication year. The Farley Library provides the following example:

Wilfong A. Epilepsy syndromes in children. In: Basow DS, ed. UpToDate [database on the Internet]. Waltham (MA): UpToDate; 2021 [cited 2021 Jun 29]. Available from: http://www.uptodate.com. Subscription required to view.

ClinicalKey

Cite references from ClinicalKey according to the type of material (ebook, journal article, procedural videos, guidelines etc.). The University of Western Australia Library provides the following example for citing a guideline from ClinicalKey: 

Ticagrelor for preventing atherothrombotic events after myocardial infarction [Internet]. London: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence; 2016 [cited 2018 Aug 24]. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/nice_guidelines/65-s2.0-TA420. Subscription required to view.

DynaMed

In the upper right corner of a monograph in DynaMed, look for the " symbol to generate a citation. You'll need to add more information to cite in Vancouver format. For conditions monographs, you can find the last updated date under the "Updates" section at the top.

Examples:

DynaMed [Internet]. Ipswich (MA): EBSCO Information Services. 1995 - . Bell Palsy; [updated 2022 Mar 31, cited 2022 Aug 5]. Available from https://www.dynamed.com/condition/bell-palsy Subscription required to view.

Varenicline. In: IBM Micromedex® DRUGDEX® [database on the Internet]. Greenwood Village (CO): IBM Watson Health/EBSCO Information; 2022 [cited 2022 Aug 5]. Available from https://www.dynamed.com/drug-monograph/varenicline. Subscription required to view.