Dean Giustini, UBC Biomedical Branch Librarian
Dean Giustini, UBC Biomedical Branch Librarian
Need help starting your research?
- To book an appointment with a librarian in anesthesia, contact vanessa.kitchin@ubc.ca or dean.giustini@ubc.ca
- To access UBC Library resources, use your Campus Wide Login (CWL).
- A librarian can meet with you via Zoom to help refine your research questions & search terms, advise which sources & databases to use, discuss how to manage results, and help you (or refer to others) regarding research methods.
- Working on systematic, scoping or other reviews? Complete this form before setting up an appointment with a librarian: woodward.library.ubc.ca/research-help/evidence-synthesis/
- Ask us about library workshops on citation management, searching effectively and other topics.
- Give feedback about this Anesthesia research guide by filling out our survey.
Key Resources in Anesthesia
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, drug information, multimedia, cases, and patient education. Books include DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowBMJ Best Practice offers a step-by-step evidence-based approach to clinical problems throughout the patient journey. Includes access to Comorbidities tool and mobile app.
- Covidence This link opens in a new windowCovidence supports systematic, scoping and comprehensive reviews. Streamlines screening, data extraction, and quality appraisal for all disciplines.
- Dynamed This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational, European-focused-Elsevier biomedical database with nearly 40 million citations - good for drug-related topics, and conference literature.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with 35+ million citations. The Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.