UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples - Article 31
1. Indigenous peoples have the right to maintain, control, protect and develop their cultural heritage, traditional knowledge and traditional cultural expressions, as well as the manifestations of their sciences, technologies and cultures, including human and genetic resources, seeds, medicines, knowledge of the properties of fauna and flora, oral traditions, literatures, designs, sports and traditional games and visual and performing arts. They also have the right to maintain, control, protect and develop their intellectual property over such cultural heritage, traditional knowledge, and traditional cultural expressions.
2. In conjunction with indigenous peoples, States shall take effective measures to recognize and protect the exercise of these rights.
From Article 31 of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP).
Image Source: Chiefs of Ontario Legislative Updates. (2017.) UNDRIP -- United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Retrieved from https://chiefsofontario.wordpress.com/2017/08/30/undrip-united-nations-declaration-on-the-rights-of-indigenous-peoples/
OCAP®
What Is OCAP®?
The First Nations principles of OCAP® are a set of standards that establish how First Nations data should be collected, protected, used, or shared. They are the de facto standard for how to conduct research with First Nations. Standing for Ownership, Control, Access and Possession, OCAP® asserts that First Nations have control over data collection processes in their communities, and that they own and control how this information can be used. Please visit the First Nations Information Governance Centre's (FNIGC) website for more information.
How does OCAP® apply to researchers?
OCAP® respects that rights of First Nations communities to own, control, access, and possess information about their peoples is fundamentally tied to self-determination and to the preservation and development of their culture.
This is why anyone interested in conducting research with a First Nation should acquaint themselves with OCAP® before they begin. A good place to start would be The Fundamentals of OCAP® course, an online course developed by FNIGC in conjunction with Algonquin College that provides a comprehensive overview of the history of OCAP® and its applications in research and information governance today.
Protocols for Museums, Libraries & Archives
Museums
- Guidelines for Culturally Sensitive Materials & Repatriation (UBC Museum of Anthropology MOA)MOA guidelines for practice, including information on photography, borrowing, and the Reciprocal Research Network (RRN).
- Turning the Page: Forging New Partnerships Between Museums and First PeoplesBy the Assembly of First Nations & the Canadian Museums Association (1994). Call Number: PDC A87 1994.
Libraries and Archives
- Protocols for Native American Archival Materials, First Archivists CircleGuide to practices for culturally responsive care and use of Native American archival material held by non-tribal organizations. (First Archivists' Circle 2007).
- SAA Endorsement of Protocols for Native American Archival MaterialsIn August 2018, the Society of American Archivists (SAA) endorsed the Protocols for Native American Archival Materials, stating, "We regret and apologize that SAA did not take action to endorse the Protocols sooner and engage in more appropriate discussion."
- Culturally Responsive Guildelines for Alaska Public LibrariesGuidelines for engaging the informational, educational and cultural interests of Alaska Native users and communities. Developed by library directors at a workshop facilitated by Dr. Lotsee Patterson (2001).
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information ServicesGuide for practices of libraries, archives and information services in serving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and handling materials with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander content.
- Protocols for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander CollectionsState Library of Queensland (Australia)
- ATSIDA (Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Data Archive) Protocols (University of Technology Sydney & Jumbunna House of Learning)Protocols for the preservation, access, reuse and repatriation of research data relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive).
Indigenous Foundations
Indigenous Foundations is an information resource on key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. This website was developed to support students in their studies, and to provide instructors, researchers and the broader public with a place to begin exploring topics that relate to Aboriginal peoples, cultures, and histories. Indigenous Foundations was developed by the First Nations Studies Program at the University of British Columbia, located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Musqueam people.
Research Principles in an Aboriginal Context
- Toolbox of Research Principles in an Aboriginal Context: Ethics, Respect, Fairness, Reciprocity, Collaboration and Culture
Explores the ethics of protecting material and immaterial cultural heritage and of open data. Provides tools to support First Nations and Inuit peoples and organizations. Also benefits researchers and students wishing to deepen their understanding of research in an Indigenous context. Promotes dialogue, collaboration, and sharing between partners participating in a joint research process.
