Skip to main content

Indigenous Peoples Histories and Archives

About these Collections

Below, we have aimed to compile an exhaustive list of RBSC materials related to Indigenous peoples. However, this is an ongoing project and new materials will frequently be added. Please use this list in combination with the RBSC database for access to all relevant archival material.

Image Source: Frank, Leonard, 1870-1944. (1927). Totem poles, Stanley Park, Vancouver, B.C. Uno Langmann Family Collection of B.C., UL_1633_0041. Photographs. [P]. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0361734

Archival Collections

Thomas K. Fleming's personal library was also donated to University of British Columbia library and is available for browsing through the U.B.C. catalogue here.

Historic Map Collections

The following map collections housed at RBSC include information about locations for Indian Reserves, Indigenous territories, battle sites, language distribution, and settlements.

This collection can also be accessed in Open Collections.

Image Source: Manesson-Mallet, Allain, 1630?-1706? (1683). Tertes Arctiques, Figure CXI, Groenlande [M]. University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. Andrew McCormick Maps and Prints. G3380 1683 M35. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0023059

Image Source: The University of British Columbia, Rare Books and Special Collections. (2019.) Historical Map Collections. Retrieved from http://guides.library.ubc.ca/c.php?g=699984&p=4970085

Journals

Image Source: Weynton, S. (1852). Journal of a voyage to the Pacific and American shores [D]. University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. FC3817.1 .W497 1849. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0349095

Photograph Collections

A portion of the photographs in this collection have been digitized and are available to be viewed on our Open Collections.

Image Source: University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. Gibbons, W. J. L. (1960). Thunderbird Park [P]. Uno Langmann Family Collection of B.C. Photographs. UL_1628_0086. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0371353

Open Collections

Image source: Dee, M. (2008, May 22). Honorary degree recipient Thomas Berger [P]. UBC Archives Photograph Collection. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0163672

Image source: Crosby, Emma, 1849-1926. University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. Thomas and Emma Crosby fonds. RBSC-ARC-1149-2-18-05. (1925, April 25). [Envelope, Jessie Harris? to Emma Crosby, April 19, 1925] [C]. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0006301

Image source: Keenlyside, J. S. (1863).  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections, RBSC-ARC-1300-1-07. Nanaimo, petition; 1863/03/00. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0092067

Image Source: [unknown]. University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. The Chung Collection. CC_PH_09370_034_037. (1938). Vicinity of Indian School- Near Tofino [P]. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0217261

Image source: British Columbia. Supreme Court. (1988, November 30). [Proceedings of the Supreme Court of British Columbia 1988-11-30] [T]. University of British Columbia Library. Law Library. KEB529.5.L3 B757. http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0018380

Exhibitions

Vertical Files

Vertical files at RBSC are arranged alphabetically and include pamphlets, exhibition announcements and reviews, newspaper clippings, planning reports, unpublished manuscripts, biographical information, correspondence, memorabilia, and other materials. We have listed particular files related to Indigenous content below.