Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alumni

Journals, databases, and ebooks available to UBC Alumni

All Electronic Resources

You can see a full list of electronic resources from UBC library accessible to alumni here.

You can also browse by resource type below.

Ebooks

Journals and Journal Collections

  • Annual Reviews - collection of 46 annual series of critical reviews written by leaders in their field.  Disciplines range from Biomedical, Life, Physical and Social Sciences including Economics.
  • CAIRN - offers access to the most comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. The collection is currently comprised of over 230 titles from more than 40 publishers.
  • Cambridge Journals Online - more than 380 peer-reviewed journals.
  • EBSCO Academic Source and Business Source alumni editions - more than 4,150 full-text journals from many of the top academic and business publishers worldwide.
  • Erudit - includes a scholarly journals collection as well as documents, theses etc. The collection is published mainly in French.
  • Human Kinetics - peer-reviewed scholarly journals related to physical activity and allied health fields.
  • Liverpool University Press - UK's third oldest university press, specializing in literature, modern languages, history and visual culture. UBC has access to select journals.
  • MIT Press - a leading university press publisher of journals at the intersection of science, technology, and the arts. UBC has access to select journals.
  • NRC Research Press - journals from Canadian Sciences Publishing covering a broad range of scientific disciplines.
  • Optical Society of America Journals  - journals from the Optical Society of America 
  • Project Muse - almost 700 journals from scholarly publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Sage Journals Online - more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine
  • University of Toronto Press - access to over a dozen journals from the largest scholarly press in Canada.

Databases

  • Airiti Library - 3,300 Taiwanese academic journals and theses from 50 universities in Taiwan back to 2004.
  • Birds of the World - comprehensive database of avian species and ornithological reference works.
  • Brill's New Jacoby - fully-revised and enlarged edition of Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker I-III.
  • Brill's new Pauly supplements II
  • CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts & Global Health) - international coverage on agriculture, forestry, global health, human nutrition, animal health, natural resources management and conservation.
  • Crop Protection Compendium - encyclopaedic resource on all aspects of crop protection
  • eHRAF World Cultures - collection of thousands of books and articles on over 300 cultures from all regions of the world, focusing on pre-industrial cultures and North American immigrant groups.
  • Klapp-Online - the most comprehensive bibliography of French literature.
  • Library Stack - collection of born-digital media from artists, designers, critics, theorists and philosophers.
  • Orlando - Women`s Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present - biographical and critical accounts of the lives and works together with contextual materials relevant to critical and historical readings.
  • Online Egyptological Bibliography - Index of publications in Egyptology from 1822 to present.
  • Past Masters - the world's largest collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.
  • PhilPapers - an international, interactive academic database of philosophy maintained by the Centre for Digital Philosophy at the University of Western Ontario.  UBC subscribes to over 100 titles from the database to complement the large open access e-print archive.
  • Sage Research Methods Online - web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioral sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
  • Yearbook of International Organizations - comprehensive database of intergovernmental (IGOs) and international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) worldwide.

Streaming Media

  • Naxos Music Library - the world's largest online classical music library.
  • Naxos Music Library (Jazz) - a selection of jazz legends and contemporary jazz.
  • Naxos Music Library World - the complete Smithsonian Folkways Recordings as well as holdings from Sony, Arc and Naxos World; representing over 1,500 cultural groups and 150 countries.
  • Naxos Spoken Word - streaming access to over 400 audio books, comprising over 1,100 works and stories. Categories range from classic fiction to Shakespeare to selected children's works

Primary Sources

Data and Statistics

  • EPS China Data - Six topical databases of China Census data beginning with the First Census (1953)

Research Tools

RefworksRefworks is a web-based citation management program that enables you to download, store and share references, and format bibliographies in seconds.