Books
Books are helpful when starting your research as they provide general or background information on a topic. They have in-depth coverage of a topic and may provide summaries of existing research and can help you narrow a broad area of interest.
Books typically take longer to write and publish than other scholarly materials, which means they offer more complete coverage, but may be less current than sources like journal articles, newspaper articles, or websites.
Book Activity 1
1. Use Summon or the UPSO (University Press Scholarship Online) database to find a book for your report.
2. Capture the citation using the Cite feature in Summon and UPSO. Copy and paste to the link below.
Post your citation here: https://bit.ly/3SrQbuy
Additional resources for finding books
- University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowA vast and rapidly-expanding online research library, University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) offers full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAccess to a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from Taylor & Francis. Imprints include Routledge, CRC Press and Garland Science.
- MIT Press Complete Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to all ebooks published by MIT Press, over 3000 titles, dating back to the first date of publication.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Books features over 16,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks,dictionaries, companions and landmark book series. Journal articles can also be found here.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowFull-text online access to journals & ebooks published by Springer, Nature, and Palgrave.
- Knovel Basic Academic This link opens in a new windowKnovel contains dozens of handbooks in engineering and the physical sciences. Special features include data search, interactive tables, and case studies.
