TIP: Limit your results to journal articles by selecting Content Type: Journal Article (under "Refine Your Search" on the left-hand side of the screen). You can also filter by publication date, academic discipline, and language; limit your result to peer reviewed publications; and exclude certain formats (e.g. newspapers) from your results.
TIP: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "First Nations"). Use an asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Curric* retrieves Curriculum, Curricula, Curricular, etc.).
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
The following databases are useful for finding articles related to the Indian Residential School System in Canada. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies in the above box, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you're expecting within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.