Research Guides: Kinesiology &amp; Health and Exercise Sciences: Databases & Articles

Introduction

In addition to using the library's landing page to search for articles, UBC subscribes to a number of databases that cater to Kinesiology and Human Kinetics, often providing more accurate results.

Need help searching for articles? Contact your librarian or check out the UBC Library guide to finding articles.

Core Databases

Sport & Fitness

SportDiscus This link opens in a new window
International database that covers all aspects of sport and fitness

Health & Medicine

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Key database in nursing and allied health.
CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts & Global Health) This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles in agriculture, forestry, global health, human nutrition, animal health, natural resources management and conservation.
PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.

Interdisciplinary

Scopus
Scopus quickly finds relevant research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science, and arts and humanities.

Education, Ethics & Society

ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. ERIC (EBSCO) includes many links to full text.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and full text from the journals included in Sociology Database.

Philosopher's Index
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.

Human Kinetics Journals

Human Kinetics publishes 27 peer-reviewed scholarly journals providing cutting-edge information for use by professors, teachers, researchers, practitioners, health care professionals, coaches, fitness enthusiasts, and many others