Introduction
Below are a handful of key books relating to Kinesiology and Human Kinetics. See something you like? Follow the link and then explore similar titles by checking out the book's subject headings and other books with similar call numbers.
Check out this guide to finding books at UBC.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Routledge Handbook of Physical Cultural Studies by Publication Date: 2017
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology is a double volume, in-depth, up-to-date scholarly reference work written by leading scholars from across the globe. The study of human psychomotor performance spans numerous activities including sport, performing arts,surgery, firefighting, law enforcement, military operations, and physical activity participation. In addition, research questions address factors that influence optimal performance as well as the adoption and maintenance of physical activity for mental and physical health.The breadth of focused scientific peer-reviewed articles provides a reliable source of specialized information to academicians, practitioners, advanced undergraduates and graduate students, and researchers in related fields. Each expert author was individually commissioned and articles were reviewedby recognized authorities.Finally, the accompanying digital platform facilitates regular updates and allows cross-linking between articles.
ISBN: 9780190634575Publication Date: 2019-04-23
The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity by
Over the past three decades the study of pediatric physical inactivity has become a public health concern. The decreases in physical activity have been associated with obesity and numerous hypokinetic diseases. In accordance with this public health concern, the study of pediatric physical activity has become a central part of research in the health and exercise science fields. The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity is the first book to survey the full depth and breadth of the issues facing this field. Bringing together many of the world's experts and practitioners, the book helps to develop an understanding of the underlying issues related to pediatric physical activity as well as the role physical activity plays on cognitive, psychomotor, and social aspects of childhood. The book addresses issues with physical activity measurement and discuss wide-ranging aspects of physical activity interventions. With more emphasis than ever on physical activity, this book makes an important contribution to the scholars and practitioners working in the field of youth physical activity. This is the first single text on the state of current knowledge related to pediatric physical activity which offers a comprehensive guide to students and academics on these subjects The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity is key reading for all advanced students, researchers, practitioners, and policy-makers with an interest in physical activity, youth sport, public health matters, sport studies, or physical education.
ISBN: 9781003026426Publication Date: 2020-04-07
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology: Volume 1: Theoretical and Methodological Concepts by
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology integrates the topics of motor control, physical education, exercise, adventure, performance in sports, and the performing arts, in several important ways and contexts, drawing upon diverse cultural perspectives. More than 90 overarching topics have been systematically developed by internationally renowned experts in theory, research, and practice. Each contribution delves into a thematic area with more nuanced vocabulary. The terminology drawn upon integrates traditional discourse and emerging topic matter into a state-of-the-art two-volume set. Volume 1: Theoretical and Methodological Concepts is comprised of theoretical topic matter, spanning theories and terminology from psychology contextualized to sport and physical activity, sport psychology-focused theories, and expansive discussions related to philosophy of science and methodology. Volume 2: Applied and Practical Measures draws upon practical concepts that bridge theory and research and practice. Broader issues that extend beyond sport and physical activity participants are embedded within the entries, intended to augment physical, mental, and social well-being. This expansive encyclopedia is a must-have resource for all professionals, scholars, and students in the fields of sport psychology and sport science.
ISBN: 9781315187259Publication Date: 2020-04-14
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology: Volume 2: Applied and Practical Measures by
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology integrates the topics of motor control, physical education, exercise, adventure, performance in sports, and the performing arts, in several important ways and contexts, drawing upon diverse cultural perspectives. More than 90 overarching topics have been systematically developed by internationally renowned experts in theory, research, and practice. Each contribution delves into a thematic area with more nuanced vocabulary. The terminology drawn upon integrates traditional discourse and emerging topic matter into a state-of-the-art two-volume set. Volume 1: Theoretical and Methodological Concepts is comprised of theoretical topic matter, spanning theories and terminology from psychology contextualized to sport and physical activity, sport psychology-focused theories, and expansive discussions related to philosophy of science and methodology. Volume 2: Applied and Practical Measures draws upon practical concepts that bridge theory and research and practice. Broader issues that extend beyond sport and physical activity participants are embedded within the entries, intended to augment physical, mental, and social well-being. This expansive encyclopedia is a must-have resource for all professionals, scholars, and students in the fields of sport psychology and sport science.
ISBN: 9781315187228Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Sport Psychology by
Dictionary of Sport Psychology: Sport, Exercise, and Performing Arts is a comprehensive reference with hundreds of concise entries across sports, martial arts, exercise and fitness, performing arts and cultural sport psychology. This dictionary uses a global approach to cover philosophical and cultural backgrounds, theory, methodology, education and training and fields of application. Each entry includes phenomenon, subject description and definition, related theory and research, practice and application across sports and related performance domains. An authoritative, balanced and accessible presentation of the state-of-the-art in key subject areas, this dictionary is a must-have reference for anyone studying or practicing sport psychology.
ISBN: 9780128131503Publication Date: 2019-02-07
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise by Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by Publication Date: 2007-02-03
Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Sport and Exercise Science and Medicine by Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Research Methods
Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences by Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Research Methods in Physical Activity by Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Key Concepts in Sport and Exercise Research Methods by
This book systematically demonstrates the significance and application of method in plain language. Written for students, this book contains the core methodological concepts, practices, and debates they need to understand and apply research methods within the field of sport and exercise. It provides a comprehensive panoramic introduction which will reassure and empower its readers.Written by a leading academic, and drawing on years of teaching experience, it includes carefully cross-referenced entries which critically engage with interdisciplinary themes and data. Each concept includes:Clear DefinitionsSuggestions for Further ReadingComprehensive ExamplesPractical ApplicationsPragmatic, lucid, and concise, the book will provide essential support to students in sport and exercise science, kinesiology, and health.
ISBN: 9781848607293Publication Date: 2011-12-06
Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications by
Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications offers the most accessible, student-friendly introduction to the principles and practice of measurement in physical activity available. Fully revised and updated, the second edition provides students with a clear guide to the obstacles to good measurement, and how to apply the principles of good measurement to a range of physical activity disciplines. Spanning applications in exercise science, sports performance, physical education, sports coaching, athletic training, and physical activity and health, the book also includes chapters on the key principles underlying good measurement practice--validity, reliability, and objectivity--as well as an introduction to using statistics and qualitative measurement. Structured to reflect single-semester classes, and involving students at every stage through its rich pedagogy and accessibility, this is a crucial resource for introducing students to the principles of best practice in measurement and evaluation. It is the ideal learning aid for any students studying measurement, evaluation, or assessment in kinesiology, exercise science, sports coaching, physical education, athletic training, and health and fitness.
ISBN: 9780815392248Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Physiology & Biomechanics
Biomechanical Basis of Human Movement by Publication Date: 2014-09-20
Physiology of Sport and Exercise by Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Sports Science by Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Sociology of Sport
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Sport and Neoliberalism by Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Introduction to the Sociology of Sport by
The sociology of sport is a relatively new scientific discipline, which has spread rapidly and developed in different directions across the world. It investigates social behavior, social processes, and social structures in sport, as well as the relationship between sport and society. The book Introduction to the Sociology of Sport aims to give its readers a comprehensive overview of this fascinating topic. For this purpose, it shows the interrelations between sport and identity, social class, gender, socialization, social groups, (mass) communication, the economy, and politics. In addition, the book introduces a new, innovative theory that helps readers understand the social specificity and worldwide popularity of sport.
ISBN: 9789004464711Publication Date: 2021
Routledge Handbook of the Sociology of Sport by
The sociology of sport is a core discipline within the academic study of sport. It helps us to understand what sport is and why it matters. Sociological knowledge, implicit or explicit, therefore underpins scholarly enquiry into sport in every aspect. The Routledge Handbook of the Sociology of Sport is a landmark publication that brings together the most important themes, theories and issues within the sociology of sport, tracing the contours of the discipline and surveying the state-of-the-art. Part One explores the main theories and analytical approaches that define contemporary sport sociology and introduces the most important methodological issues confronting researchers working in the social scientific study of sport. Part Two examines the connections and divisions between sociology and cognate disciplines within sport studies, including history, anthropology, economics, leisure and tourism studies, philosophy, politics and psychology. Part Three investigates how the most important social divisions within sport, and in wider society, are addressed in sport sociology, including 'race', gender, class, sexuality and disability. Part Four explores a wide range of pressing contemporary issues associated with sport, including sport and the body, social problems associated with sport, sport places and settings, and the global aspects of sport. Written by a team of leading international sport scholars, including many of the most well-known, respected and innovative thinkers working in the discipline, the Routledge Handbook of the Sociology of Sport is an essential reference for any student, researcher or professional with an interest in sport.
ISBN: 9781138308527Publication Date: 2017-06-21
Sociology of Sport by
The Sociology of Sport has grown since its inception in the late 1950s and has become robust, and diverse. Many countries now boast strong scholars in the field and this volume reflects the fascinating research being done. This innovative volume is dedicated to a review of the state of the area by region, and country in some cases. For instance, Latin America is expanding widely in the field, and Korea and Japan have had vibrant Sociology of Sport communities for some time.
ISBN: 9781786350503Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence Based Practice in Sport and Exercise by Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Evidence-Based Practice in Exercise Science by Publication Date: 2016-03-02
History of Sport
Illustrated History of Health and Fitness, from Pre-History to Our Post-Modern World by Publication Date: 2014-11-27
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2015-03-26
