Books
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Sourcebook by Call Number: WB39 .C65 2006ISBN: 0780808649Publication Date: 2006-03-01Provides basic consumer health information about alternative and complementary medical therapies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
The Canadian Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine by Call Number: WB935 .T67 2008ISBN: 0470839082Publication Date: 2008This book on natural medicine is easy-to-follow, providing natural cures for everyday problems such as insect bites and muscle aches, as well as for serious chronic disorders such as osteoporosis, Parkinson’s disease, and diabetes.
The Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Call Number: WB13 .N323 2004ISBN: 0816049971Publication Date: 2004-01-01This book includes more than 400 detailed entries, in addition to appendices featuring lists of professional and lay organizations, herbs used in medicine disciplines, and a historic time line of complementary and alternative therapies. A glossary, bibliography, and index are also provided.
The Handbook of Clinically Tested Herbal Remedies by Call Number: QV39 .H362 2004ISBN: 0789010682Publication Date: 2004-07-09This handbook provides a snapshot of 160 herbal products that have been tested in clinical trials. An evaluation of the strength of the evidence from the trials, along with the context for therapeutics is included. It also describes the fundamentals of herbal medicine, including regulation, characterization, standardization, bioavailability, efficacy, safety, and pharmacopoeial monographs.
Websites
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) (US)NCCAM is committed to providing rigorous, evidence-based research on complementary and alternative medicine to the public. Use the A-Z index to find information on diseases, herbs, supplements, therapies or treatments.
- MedlinePlus: Herbs and SupplementsBrowse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- Health Canada: Natural and Non-prescription Health ProductsA comprehensive resource for consumer and industry information on herbal remedies, homeopathic medicines, Chinese natural medicine, vitamins and minerals, probiotics and more.
- Office of Dietary SupplementsThe fact sheets created by the Office of Dietary Supplements provide the most current overview on specific vitamins, minerals, herbs and other dietary supplements.
Databases (UBC Affiliates)
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- Natural StandardNatural Standard provides authoritative, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. The data is aggregated and synthesized to provide a critical and transparent review of the evidence regarding herbs and supplements. A notable feature of this database is the ability to search according to the level of expertise.