The BC Cancer Agency provides a province-wide, population-based cancer control program for the residents of British Columbia and the Yukon. Includes information on cancer treatment and research, support for cancer patients, links to recommended resources, and reviews of complementary and alternative therapies.
The BC CDC, an agency of the Provincial Health Services Authority, provides provincial and national leadership in public health through surveillance, detection, treatment, prevention and consultation services.
Provides access to British Columbia residents on 5,000 health topics and access to services. For non-emergency health information, dialling 8-1-1 connects you with a nurse, pharmacist or dietician who is available to discuss your health concerns; both website and phone service are free and accessible 24 hours a day.
A searchable directory for community, social, and government services in the districts of Metro Vancouver, Fraser Valley, and Squamish-Lillooet. Alternatively, the toll-free number, 2-1-1 provides 24 hour support.
Lists contact information for doctors and specialists across B.C., and searching under family physicians provides a list of physicians accepting new patients.
Medical information and tools focusing on health care, research and education. A range of easy-to-read and timely articles on diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, test and procedures, nutrition, and healthy living. In addition to health information, this site offers a symptom-checker.
Authoritative consumer health information from the US National Library of Medicine. Browse this extensive site for current health news, general health information by disease or body system, and information on drugs and supplements. Additional features include the illustrated Medical Encyclopedia, and many interactive tutorials, animated anatomy videos and videos of surgical procedures.
The online version of the popular, comprehensive medical reference text. The Merck Manual explains disorders, their symptoms, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment in everyday language.
Learn more about a medical condition and treatment options by searching the database for the freely accessible health information. Begin the search by entering a condition, symptom, test, procedure, treatment or medication in the “Patient Content” search box.
A registry and results database of clinical trials around the world. Each record details its design and purpose, participation criteria, location, and contact information. Search by condition, drug intervention, sponsor, or location.
A public website developed by clinical laboratory professionals to provides descriptions of medical tests. Helps to understand why a test may be given and how to interpret its results. To start, search by test or condition.
Approximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.