Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cultural Studies uses different citation styles depending on the focus of the studies; the three most often used citation styles are MLA, APA, and Chicago. UBC Library has guides for all three styles with examples for the most common types of citations. An alternative resource are the guides created by the OWL at Purdue University, which categorizes types of citation and style elements and provides sample papers with extensive instruction on what academic papers should look like. Links for all of these resources are below. More detailed information on how to cite can be found on the UBC Library website.
Getting Started with APA Citation Style (UBC Library)
American Psychological Association (APA) style is one of several styles for academic writing. This Getting Started library handout
covers frequently used citation forms and refers to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association and the APA Style Guide to Electronic References.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
MLA Documentation Style (UBC Library)
Modern Language Association (MLA) style is one of several styles for academic citations. It is used in the humanities, especially English. The examples in this guide cover the more common sources only. For more detailed information, refer to the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 7th ed. available in the reference and circulating collections at
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Chicago Citation Style (UBC Library)
The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed) provides two distinct citation styles: Humanities style (notes and bibliography) and Scientific/Social Sciences styles (parenthetical author/date references and reference list). This handout covers only the Humanities style of Chicago. The full manual is available in the library at: Z 253.U69 2010.
Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition (Purdue OWL)
This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.
Writing and Research Centre
UBC Okanagan’s Writing and Research Centre offers writing support for all undergraduate students working on any kind of writing assignment for a class. Our consultants can assist writers with various stages of the writing process: developing a draft, clarifying an argument, organizing written materials, understanding editing techniques and effective sentence structures, and building beneficial writing habits. They will listen carefully, answer questions about how to approach different types of writing assignments, and provide feedback regarding how a reader experiences the writing.
If you are a graduate student, post-doc or faculty member, please make an appointment with the Centre for Scholarly Communication.
Refworks is the citation management tool officially supported by UBC Library and is free to use for UBC students, faculty, and alumni. Refworks has an online interface that can be used to collect and organize your citations and a plugin for Microsoft Word that helps you format your citations in any of hundreds of styles and easily integrate the citation into your work.