Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and Understanding
The books found in this list are useful for research and understanding in all areas of cultural studies. For a list of books that have had a significant impact on the field of study, scroll down to the Seminal Works box.
Cultural Theory and Popular Culture by
Call Number: CB19 .S743 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-25
In this new edition of his widely adopted Cultural Theory and Popular Culture: An Introduction, John Storey has extensively revised the text throughout. Like previous editions, the book presents a clear and critical survey of competing theories of, and various approaches to, popular culture. New to this edition:Extensively revised, rewritten, and updated, improved and expanded content throughout including a new chapter on psychoanalysis and a new section on post-Marxism and the global postmodern.
Drawn and Quarterly by
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Editor Tom Devlin digs into the company archives for rare photographs, correspondence, and comics; assembles biographies, personal reminiscences, and interviews with key D+Q staff; and curates essays by Margaret Atwood, Sheila Heti, Jonathan Lethem, Deb Olin Unferth, Heather O'Neill, Lemony Snicket, Chris Ware, and noted comics scholars.
Film Theory and Criticism by
Call Number: PN1994 .M364 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-11
Since publication of the first edition in 1974, Film Theory and Criticism has been the most widely used and cited anthology of critical writings about film. Extensively revised and updated, this sixth edition highlights both classic texts and cutting edge essays from more than a century of thought and writing about the movies.
Nation and Narration by
Call Number: PN56.N19 N38 1990
Publication Date: 1990-04-19
Confronts the realities of the concept of nationhood as it is lived and the profound ambivalence of language as it is written. From Gillian Beer's reading of Virginia Woolf, Rachel Bowlby's cultural history of Uncle Tom's Cabin and Francis Mulhern's study of Leaviste's 'English ethics'; to Doris Sommer's study of the 'magical realism' of Latin American fiction and Sneja Gunew's analysis of Australian writing, Nation and Narration is a celebration of the fact that English is no longer an English national consciousness, which is not nationalist, but is the only thing that will give us an international dimension.
The SAGE Handbook of Popular Music by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-03-14
A comprehensive, smartly-conceived volume that can take its place as the new standard reference in popular music. This is a benchmark work which will be essential reading for educators and students in popular music studies, musicology, cultural studies, media studies and cultural sociology.
Semiotics and the Philosophy of Language by
Call Number: P99 .E29 1984
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
"Eco wittily and enchantingly develops themes often touched on in his previous works, but he delves deeper into their complex nature... this collection can be read with pleasure by those unversed in semiotic theory." -- Times Literary Supplement
Understanding Comics by
Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1993
Publication Date: 1994-04-27
Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.
Video Games Around the World by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-05-22
This volume describes video game history and culture across every continent, with essays covering areas as disparate and far-flung as Argentina and Thailand, Hungary and Indonesia, Iran and Ireland. Most of the essays are written by natives of the countries they discuss, many of them game designers and founders of game companies, offering distinctively firsthand perspectives.
The books found in this list are considered seminal works in the area of cultural studies. For a list of books that will aide in the research and understanding of the field, scroll up to the Research and Understanding box.
Ain't I a Woman by
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
A groundbreaking work of feminist history and theory analyzing the complex relations between various forms of oppression. Ain't I a Woman examines the impact of sexism on black women during slavery, the historic devaluation of black womanhood, black male sexism, racism within the recent women's movement, and black women's involvement with feminism.
Black Skin, White Masks by
Call Number: GN645 .F313 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-10
A major influence on civil rights, anti-colonial, and black consciousness movements around the world, this book is the unsurpassed study of the black psyche in a white world. Hailed for its scientific analysis and poetic grace when it was first published in 1952, the book remains a vital force today from one of the most important theorists of revolutionary struggle, colonialism, and racial difference in history.
Gender Trouble by
Call Number: HQ1154 .B88 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-12
One of the most talked-about scholarly works of the past fifty years; as celebrated as it is controversial. Arguing that traditional feminism is wrong to look to a natural, 'essential' notion of the female, or indeed of sex or gender, Butler starts by questioning the category 'woman' and continues in this vein with examinations of 'the masculine' and 'the feminine'. Best known however, but also most often misinterpreted, is Butler's concept of gender as a reiterated social performance rather than the expression of a prior reality.
The Invention of Women by
Call Number: DT515.45.Y67 O94 1997
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
The “woman question,” this book asserts, is a Western one, and not a proper lens for viewing African society. Rethinking gender as a Western construction, Oyewumi offers a new way of understanding both Yoruban and Western cultures.
The Ironic Spectator by
Call Number: HM1206 .C468 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
This path-breaking book explores how solidarity towards vulnerable 'others' is performed in our media environment. It argues that stories where famine is described through our own experience of dieting or or where solidarity with Africa translates into wearing a cool armband tell us about much more than the cause that they attempt to communicate.
No logo : taking aim at the brand bullies by
Call Number: HD2755.5 .K575 2000
Publication Date: c2000
First published by Knopf Canada and Picador in December 1999, shortly after the 1999 WTO Ministerial Conference protests in Seattle had generated media attention around such issues, it became one of the most influential books about the alter-globalization movement and an international bestseller.
Trash Market by
Call Number: PN6790.J33 T7813 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Tadao Tsuge was one of the key contributors to the legendary avant-garde Japanese comics magazine Garo during its heyday in the late 1960s and early 1970s, renowned for his unpretentious journalistic storytelling and clear, eloquent cartooning.
Understanding Media by
Call Number: P90 .M26 1994
Publication Date: 1994-10-24
This reissue of Understanding Media marks the thirtieth anniversary (1964-1994) of Marshall McLuhan's classic expose on the state of the then emerging phenomenon of mass media. Terms and phrases such as "the global village" and "the medium is the message" are now part of the lexicon, and McLuhan's theories continue to challenge our sensibilities and our assumptions about how and what we communicate.
The Wretched of the Earth by
Call Number: DT33 .F313 2004
Publication Date: 2005-03-12
A brilliant analysis of the psychology of the colonized and their path to liberation. Bearing singular insight into the rage and frustration of colonized peoples, and the role of violence in effecting historical change, the book incisively attacks the twin perils of postindependence colonial politics: the disenfranchisement of the masses by the elites on the one hand, and intertribal and interfaith animosities on the other.
Online Book Collections
Most of the books in our collection can be found by searching Summon, the library's main search engine. Some ebooks will only appear by searching the publishers platforms listed here. If you have difficulty finding a book you believe is part of the UBC Library collection, contact your subject librarian or speak to someone at the service desk on the main floor of the library.
eBooks @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-books, with strengths in business information. Use for: finding ebooks on accounting, e-commerce, entrepreneurship, economics + global economy, finance + banking, management, etc.
Requesting Books from UBC Vancouver
Books can be requested from UBC Vancouver for delivery to the UBC Okanagan campus. The process takes 1-4 days and is free of charge for UBC students, staff, and faculty. To request a book from Vancouver, search for the book in the library catalogue, open the full record, and click on the link that says Order via Document Delivery.
Requesting Books from Other Libraries
Books and articles that are not part of UBC's collection can be requested from other institutions through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The process takes between 1-4 weeks and is free of charge for UBC students, staff, and faculty. Login to your library account here and complete the ILL form to request material from another library.