Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following guide was developed to support research that falls under the umbrella of Cultural Studies. This is an interdisciplinary subject area, typically focusing on areas that overlap with the humanities and social sciences. Work in cultural studies will often involve courses in internet culture, film and television, digital literacy, Web 2.0 activism, alter-globalization and human rights, and much more. Because of the wide-spanning nature of cultural studies, you may need to consult other research guides, some of which are linked in the Related Guides box the left of this box.
If you need help in the research process, contact your subject librarian.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary index. Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in over 1700 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
The MLA International Bibliography is the core database for English language and literature.
An international journal which explores the relation between cultural practices, everyday life, material, economic, political, geographical and historical contexts.
International Journal of Cultural Studies
Promoting theoretical, empirical and historical research representative of international perspectives on cultural and media developments across the globe it explores the globalisation of the field and the study of the impact of globalisation on local cultural practices and media ecologies.