Background Information
UBC Library is a "European Information Corner",as a result the Library receives a core collection of materials including the Official Journal, annual series and book titles. A great number of titles are available for free on the European Union website Europa.
Flickr: European Union by Quinn Dombrowski
- EU Publications: is an online library of publications from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union, most of the publications are open access.
- EU Open Data Portal: is the single point of access to data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union.
- EU WebArchive: As part of the Publications and Legal Deposit of the EU Publications office,EU websites are archived and preserved for future researchers. Older copies of websites and content can be found on this site.
- EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
- European Commission
EU institution which negotiates international agreements and proposes legislation. Provides EUROSTAT with Euro-indicators and structural indicators for downloading current data.
- EUROSTAT
- European Union Research Guide from UC Berkeley
Handbooks & Guides
Europa world year book. Koerner Quick Reference D2 E83
Encyclopedia of the European Union. Koerner Reference JN30.E52 2000
Organized alphabetically by topic, covers events, individuals, countries, etc., as well as abbreviations and acronyms.
European Union Encyclopedia and Directory. Koerner Reference HC241.2.E8334
Provides a chronology, a list of terminology, directory information, and some statistical information.
Dictionary of the European Union. London: Europa, 2002 JN30.P525 2002
Brief alphabetical listing of events, organization, countries, etc..
Sloan, Barbara. “Researching the European Union” in International Information : Documents, Publications, and Electronic Information of International Governmental Organizations (2d ed.) (Peter I. Hajnal, ed.) Koerner Reference JZ4850 .I58 1997
Documentation of the European Communities: A Guide. Koerner Reference .ZJN15.T565 1989
Provides information on available EU documentation and publications by topic and agency.
Chronological History of the European Union, 1946-2001 HC240.V258 2002
Contains an annotated, narrative chronology of the EU. Includes the articles of the treaty establishing the EEC in 1957.
Handbook of European Union Politics (Jørgensen, Knud Erik; Pollack, Mark A.; Rosamond Ben.)
EU Bodies
The Delegation of the European Commission to the USA is a good place to start for current news, and especially for subject research guides.
The Delegation of the European Commission to Canada
The Delegation's main role is to promote in Canada the positions and policies of the European Commission and (within the limits defined in the EU Treaty) those of the European Union as a whole.
Council of the European Union
Represents the individual member states.
Economic and Social Committee
A consultative body that advises the Commission, Council and Parliament
The European Commission
The Commission is responsible for implementing the decisions of Parliament and the Council. It is composed of many Directorates or departments: eg. Agriculture and Rural Development, Economic and Social Affairs, Health and Consumer Protection, etc. as outlined at Directorates-General and Services. This page also has links to various sites related to External Relations, and to general services.
European Parliament
Represents the EU's citizens and is directly elected by them.
EU Publications
EU Bookshop
Searchable site. Many publications are available full text.
European Union Documents
Describes and links to legal materials, documents that are common to all institutions, and documents of individual institutions such as the Parliament, the Council, the Commission...
Eur-Lex
Searchable database of European legal materials, including the Official Journal of the European Union from 1998 onwards. The L series contains directives, regulations and decisions which have been enacted; the C series contains draft proposals. The database also provides access to Treaties and International Agreements.
Eurocat on CD-ROM is a catalogue of European Community/European Union publications and documents, and of selected texts published in the Official Journal. Covers 1993-2000. Koerner reference CD-ROMS, floor 2.
Official Documents
Documents from the Parliament, reports (including Green and White Papers), treaties, opinions of the Economic and Social Committee.
Statistics
Eurostat
The official statistical agency for the EU. Eurostat offers in-depth coverage of all major social and themes for countries, internal regions, cities, and the EU as a whole, eg. General and Regional Statistics, Economy and Finance, Population and Social Conditions, Agriculture and Fisheries, Industry Trade and Services...Tables can be viewed in a variety of formats; larger files are in .zip format. Detailed Methodology information is also available.
Provides money, banking and financial market statistics, eg. exchange rates, government finance, Euro area accounts, prices...Searchable statistical documents in .pdf formats are available.