Anthropology

See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. The guide shows you  how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.

Journal articles are listed in article indexes and databases. Some of these just provide citations of articles, other provide citations and descriptive abstracts which summarize what the articles are about, while others provide full text. The most relevant indexes/databases for Anthropology are listed below.

• Anthropology Plus
  The main index for Anthropology. Start here!
• eHRAF World Cultures
  Full text ethnographic materials.
• Annual Review of Anthropology
  Comprehensive critical reviews on topics in Anthropology. The reviews summarize a topic and guide you to the principal contributions of the field. Search the archives for your topic to see if a review has been written on your area of research.
• Oxford Bibliographies Online - Anthropology
  Overview articles for more than 180 topics in anthropology and archaeology. Each article includes citations to and contextualization of key works on a topic.

Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  A research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. Indexes and abstracts over 800 journals, and includes access to 500 full text journals.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
  The main article index for Linguistics. Indexes journals, books, technical reports, papers, dissertations, and book reviews in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
• Sociology Collection
  Sociological Abstracts - indexes quite a number of anthropological journals

Archaeology

• Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA Online)
  Covers restoration and preservation of artworks, material culture and archaeology
• Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science Core Collection)
  Multidisciplinary index. Can be used to determine where and how many times an article has been cited.

Medical Anthropology

• MEDLINE (Ovid)
  Premier biomedical database with over 23 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this OvidSP interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.

Indigenous

• First Nations Periodical Index
  Journals of mainly Canadian First Nations content.
• Informit Indigenous Collection
  Collection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.

By Geographic Area

• Africa bibliography
  Indexes a wide range of material relating to Africa. Includes monographs, book chapters, journal articles and casual publications. Not restricted by language. Coverage extends back to the mid nineteen-eighties.
• International African Bibliography
  An International and interdisciplinary specialist bibliography of African Studies providing electronic access to over 140,000 entries
• ASTIS: Arctic science and technology information system
  Canadian Arctic studies; Covers all aspects of northern Canada and adjacent marine areas including geology, geomorphology and cold regions engineering.
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Use for anthropology of Asian countries. Covers western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1
• Handbook of Latin American Studies
  Humanities and social sciences (including anthropology, economics, geography, history, political science, women's studies, art, literature, music, philosophy)
• Basque Database
  The Basque Database covers books, articles, chapters, dissertations, films and other materials on Basque Studies written or produced after 1994. The subject emphases are Basque history, language and culture.