Core Biomedical Databases
The following resources provide access to the core biomedical literature. For a comprehensive list of databasea and indexes that contain health-related literature see the Health and Biomedical Databases UBC Wiki page.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central publishes 244 peer-reviewed open access journals. UBC Library pays for a Supporters Membership which entitles UBC authors to a 15% discount on the article-processing charge.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowKey database in nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Core Evidence Based Medicine Databases
The following are the key resources for Evidence-Based Medicine. For additional databases please see the Evidence-Based Healthcare guide.
- ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new windowConcise evaluative commentaries on original studies and reviews from key clinical journals. By the American College of Physicians (ACP).
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR)Search across all EMBR databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Health Technology Assessments (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED).
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new windowThe collection of reviews of reviews provides critical assessments of systematic reviews. It was produced by the UK National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) between 1994 and March 2015.
Other Resources and Databases to Explore
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, and data sheets on agriculture, animal health, crop protection, forestry, global health, human nutrition, horticulture, and natural resources management. Includes Cab Abstracts & Global Health databases.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesPubMed Clinical Queries uses specialized filters to retrieve results by the clinical study category (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, clinical prediction guides), the systematic review subset, and the medical genetics topics.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of evaluation and measurement tools used in health and psychosocial studies.
- Native Health Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- CPS This link opens in a new windowFormerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
Family Practice Material on UBC's cIRcle
Research and teaching materials created by the UBC Community and available online in cIRcle, UBC's Information Repository.
Loading ...
Browse by Journal
Not sure where to start? Consider browsing relevant journals to read about the most current research in your field. The following suggestions are some of the journals with the greatest impact factor in this field.