Skip to Main Content

Family Practice

A guide for students and faculty of the Department of Family Practice

eBook Collections

The following resources contain health-specific eBook collections. Many more health-related eBooks can be found by searching the UBC Library collection.

AccessMedicine
Approximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
Books@OVID
Collection of full text e-books for medicine, nursing and pharmacy. Includes The ICU Book, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, and the Joanna Briggs Institute series on Synthesis Science in Healthcare.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
SpringerLink
Full-text online access to journals & ebooks published by Springer, Nature, and Palgrave.

New Medical Books

The following is an automatically generated list of the newest medical books acquired by UBC Library. To learn more about searching for books @ UBC Library please see "Books -- Get Research Help"

Pharmacology for nurses : a pathophysiological approach by Michael Patrick Adams, Carol Quam Urban, Mohamed El-Hussein, Joseph Osuji, Shirley King.
Call Number: WB330 .A215 2018 at WD

Publication Date: 2018
An American Sickness by Elisabeth Rosenthal
Call Number: W84AA1 .R815a 2017 at WD (Great Reads)

Publication Date: 2017
Doing a Systematic Review by Rumona Dickson; Angela Boland; M. Gemma Cherry (Editor)
Call Number: W20.5 .D625 2014 at WD, BMB, UBCO

Publication Date: 2013
Rise of the Regulatory State I by Jiwei Qian (Editor)
Call Number: W32.5.JC6 Q43 2017 at KNR

Publication Date: 2017
Visual Perception: a Clinical Orientation, Fifth Edition by Steven H. Schwartz
Call Number: WW105 .S38 2017 at WD

Publication Date: 2017

Core Titles

Current by Jeannette E. South-Paul; Samuel C. Matheny; Evelyn L. Lewis
Call Number: ONLINE

Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Family Medicine by Robert B. Taylor (Editor); A. K. David (Associate Editor); S. A. Fields (Associate Editor); D. M. Phillips (Associate Editor); J. E. Scherger (Associate Editor)
Call Number: RA418.5.F3 at WD, BMB

Publication Date: 2003
Primary Care Medicine by Albert G. Mulley; Allan H. Goroll
Call Number: W84.61 .P94916 2014 at WD, BMB, UBCO; ONLINE

Publication Date: 2014
Textbook of Family Medicine by Robert E. Rakel; David Rakel
Call Number: WB110 .T355 2016 at WD, BMB; ONLINE

Publication Date: 2015
Essentials of Family Medicine by Philip D. Sloane; Anthony J. Viera; Mark H. Ebell; Louis B. Jacques; David Power; Lisa M. Slatt; Mindy A. Smith
Call Number: WB110 .E78 2012 at WD, BMB, UBCO

Publication Date: 2011
Family Medicine by Mark B. Mengel; L. Peter Schwiebert
Call Number: WB110 .F1986 2009 at WD, BMB; ONLINE

Publication Date: 2009
Manual of Family Practice by Robert B. Taylor
Call Number: WB39 .M3582 2002 at WD, BMB

Publication Date: 2001
McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine by Thomas R. Freeman; Ian R. McWhinney
Call Number: WB110 .F855m 2016 at WD

Publication Date: 2016