Core Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowCore database of articles and supplementary materials containing the world's zoological and animal science literature. Searchable on the Web of Science platform.
More Databases
- ASFA - Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts is an internationally known bibliographic database for aquatic sciences and fisheries.
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, and data sheets on agriculture, animal health, crop protection, forestry, global health, human nutrition, horticulture, and natural resources management. Includes Cab Abstracts & Global Health databases.
- Geobase This link opens in a new windowResearch literature with abstracts on human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
- SummonSummon is a single access point to find most of the UBC Library collections including: print books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, digitized items, conference proceedings, and images.