Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ASIA 453: Books

Secondary sources - Books

Secondary sources in book format include  biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias and book-length bibliographies that list primary sources.

 
In the UBC Library Catalogue, these subject headings may be useful for finding secondary sources on your topic:

Travelers' writings--History and criticism
Travelers' writings, Japanese--History and criticism
 
Japan--Description and travel
Japan--Description and travel--Early works to 1800

Travel in Literature

Selected resources:

Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. All are fully indexed and cross-searchable.

JapanKnowledge
Includes several reference resources in Japanese, as well as the English-language Encyclopedia of Japan.

Bresler, Laurence. The Origins of Popular Travel and Travel Literature in Japan. 1975. PL721 .T75  Koerner Stacks

Brown, Christopher K. Encyclopedia of Travel Literature. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-Clio, 2000.  G465 .B765 2000 Koerner  Reference

De Bary, William Theodore and Yoshiko Kurata Dykstra. Sources of Japanese Tradition. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001.

McCall, Owen A., Bernard S. Silberman, and University of British Columbia. Library. A Bibliography of Sources for Japanese Cultural History before the Meiji Period for the use of Undergraduates in Writing Term Papers. Vancouver: Dept. of Asian Studies, University of British Columbia, 1980
ZDS806 .S55 1962 SUPPL. Asian Library Indic collection; Asian Library Reference.

Inada, Hide Ikehara. Bibliography of Translations from the Japanese into Western Languages from the 16th Century to 1912. Tokyo: Sophia University, 1971. ZPL781 .I534 1971 I.K. Barber Learning Centre ASRS storage

Miner, Earl Roy, Hiroko Odagiri, and Robert E. Morrell. The Princeton Companion to Classical Japanese Literature. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1985. PL726.1 .M495 1985 Multiple holdings.

Keene, Donald. World within Walls: Japanese Literature of the Pre-Modern Era, 1600-1867. New York: Grove Press, 1978. PL726.35 .K4 1976A Koerner Stacks

Papinot, Edmond. Historical and Geographical Dictionary of Japan. Rutland, Vt: C. E. Tuttle, 1972. DS833 .P3 1984 Rare Books and Special Collections Reference

Tsutsui, William M. A Companion to Japanese history. Blackwell Publishers, 2009.

Vaporis, Constantine Nomikos. Breaking Barriers: Travel and the State in Early Modern Japan.Cambridge, Mass: Council on East Asian Studies, Harvard University, 1994. HE277 .V36 1994 Koerner Stacks





 

Ask a Librarian

Japanese Language Materials
Shirin Eshghi
shirin.eshghi@ubc.ca

English Language Materials
Allan Cho
allan.cho@ubc.ca

Rare Books and Special Collections
Katherine Kalsbeek
katherine.kalsbeek@ubc.ca