Finding anime and manga in UBC Library collection
Browse the Shelves
Browse the following call number ranges in Koerner Library or UBC-Okanagan Library (for English translations) and in Asian Library (for the original Japanese version):
- PN6790.J33 and PN6790.J34 (Manga books)
- NC1709 (Comic books in Japan; for English resources go to Music, Art, and Architecture Library in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre)
- NC1766.J3 (Anime books)
- PN1997.5 (Anime DVDs)
Search the Catalogue
UBC Summon lets you find resources in print, electronic, streaming media and other formats.
- Search an anime or manga creator's name or work title. Search online for Miyazaki Hayao
- Use "manga OR comics" as Genre and limit to the content type=book/ebook. Search online
- Use "anime OR animated films" as Genre and limit to the content type=streaming media and other video formats. Search online
- Use "manga" or "anime" and limit to the language=English
Browse the Catalogue
- PN6790.J33 and PN6790.J34 (Manga books)
- Koerner Library Videomatica Collection has a number of anime films available. Browse online
Search the Streaming Platforms available at UBC
- Criterion On Demand: Search online for Japanese animated films
- For more information on UBC Library's collection of streaming media, see the Streaming Media Guide
Not in UBC collection? Use the InterLibrary Loan service
- Search WorldCat and find out which university has a copy of the book or DVD you are looking for
- Submit an InterLibrary Loan request to borrow the copy from the external institution via UBC Library ILL Order Form. For more information on ILL, please see this https://services.library.ubc.ca/borrowing-services/ill/
Other Sources
Commercial Streaming Services
For information only. UBC Library does not provide access for the following platforms:
- Amazon Prime: Search for anime available on the platform
- Netflix: Search for anime available on the platform
- Crunchyroll: Search for anime available on the platform
Open Access Sources
Anime
- Japanese Animated Film ClassicsOperated by the National Film Archive of Japan, this site provides free access to digitized versions of early animated films in their collection.
- Studio Ghibli free still imagesStudio Ghibli provides access to 228 still images from their animated films on this page.
In Japanese.
Manga
- Shonen Jump+A Japanese online magazine for manga titles published by Shueisha. Some chapters are open access, some are subscription-only.
- MANGA PlusAn official English-Language manga reader for titles published by Shueisha. Some chapters are open-access, some are subscription-only.
- Google Arts & Culture: Tezuka OsamuAn Google archive of images and photographs and biographical information about the creator.
- National Diet Library Digital CollectionsProvides access to digital versions of Japan's national library holdings. Some open access.
Browse online for early manga works available digitally. In Japanese.
Notable items in UBC Library collection
Mighty Atom : the complete collection of the original version. Unit 1 by Call Number: PN6790.J33 T494 2009 pt. 1 Asian Library Room 302ISBN: 9784862354914Publication Date: 2009Reprinted issues of the popular comic books originally published 1951-1957.
In Japanese.
Units 2-7 also available.
Otaku : persona, space, city by Call Number: DS822.5 .O58 2004 Asian Library Room 302ISBN: 9784344008977Publication Date: 2004A catalogue of the Japan Pavilion at the 9th International Architecture Exhibition held in Venice in September 2004.
Includes hand-painted snap-fit figurine.
Trilogy of science fiction & concept notes by Call Number: PN6790.J33 T4936 2011 Asian Library Room 302ISBN: 9784778031848Publication Date: 2011Reproductions of Tezuka's 3 SF works: Rosuto wārudo, Metoroporisu, and Kitarubeki sekai.
In Japanese.
- The Fox of Shichigorosawa (short film)The Fox of Hakodate Higashiyama have been living by the Shichigoro swap for generations, but humans have begun polluting these waters with medical waste... Through traditional Ainu storytelling, this story illustrates the tale of this Fox entirely in Ainu. -- IMDb.com.
