Research Guides: Animal Science / Applied Animal Biology: Knowledge Synthesis & other comprehensive searching

Need Help?

To arrange for a systematic or scoping review consultation, please complete this Consult Request form.

Systematic Review workshops are offered regularly - please check the events calendar for the next offering.

For more information on how UBC Librarians can support your systematic or scoping review project, please see How we Can Help.

Deciding between a Systematic or a Literature Review? Check out this description of the differences in their stages and processes.

Evidence Synthesis Consult Form

How we can help
With search methodology guidance for Systematic, Scoping and other Knowledge Synthesis Reviews

Key Research Guides

Systematic and Scoping Reviews Search Methodology
Has there already been systematic reviews on your topic?
Framing your research question.
Strategies for finding studies.
Search Techniques and Filters. Writing the Methods Section.
Further Resources.
Grey Literature for Health Sciences

Search Strategy Methodology

Search Strategy Documentation

PRISMA-S Checklist
The PRISMA-S checklist provides a comprehensive guideline for documenting searches for systematic reviews.
PRISMA-S: An Extension To The PRISMA Statement For Reporting Literature Searches.
Rethlefsen, M., Kirtley, S., Waffenschmidt, S., Ayala, A., Moher, D., Page, M. and Koffel, J., 2021. PRISMA-S: An Extension To The PRISMA Statement For Reporting Literature Searches. Systematic Reviews 10, Article 39.
CADTH Search Filters Database
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) search filters developed and maintained by CADTH’s Research Information Services Filters Working Group. These filters have been extensively tested by the Research Information Services team and are routinely used in CADTH projects. Some filters have been validated against a gold standard set of articles, while others have been pragmatically validated.
Addressing antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches
This document provides suggested processes and wording for addressing the inclusion of antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches.

Self-Guided Tutorials

UBC Library Informatics for Nursing
An overview for nursing students to searching the academic literature. Start here for an introduction to UBC Library's nursing resources.
CINAHL Tutorials
These modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
CINAHL Guided Exercise
Step-by-step guide to build a structured search in CINAHL.
Using PubMed in Evidence Based Practice
An introduction to PubMed. Includes videos and interactive exercises.
MEDLINE (Ovid) tutorials
These modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in Medline on the Ovid platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
Medline Guided Exercise - MEDLINE (Ovid)
This tutorial provides step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. It's intended to be a "guide on the side" - follow along or build your own!
Scales, Tests and Measures Tutorials
These short modules are under 5 minutes each and provide tips and techniques to find tests and measures in CINAHL, Medline Ovid and PsycINFO.
EMBASE (Ovid) Video Tutorials
These modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in EMBASE on the Ovid platform. Many of these techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
Web of Knowledge Platform - Web of Science
Video tutorials on using Web of Science

Background on Scoping Reviews

Scoping studies: Towards a methodological framework.
Arksey, H., & O'Malley, L. (2005). Scoping studies: Towards a methodological framework. International Journal of Social Research Methodology, 8(1), 19-32. doi:10.1080/1364557032000119616
A typology of reviews: An analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies.
Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: An analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91-108. doi:10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

Search Filters

Search filters are pre-tested strategies used to find evidence in databases. They are often used to locate a specific type of study, such as a randomized controlled trial or a qualitative study. Some search filters have been validated against a test set of records.

ISSG Search Filters Resource
In addition to search filters for study designs, this resource includes search filters for topics such as Animal Studies. In particular, laboratory animal studies in PubMed, Embase, PsycINFO, and Web of Science and non-human primates in PubMed, PsycINFO and Web of Science.
University of Alberta Health Sciences Search Filters
Includes filters for Indigenous peoples and other populations.
Ovid expert searches
Includes subset filters from PubMed (for example, systematic reviews[sb]), adjusted for use in Ovid, along with other topical search filters.