Includes the following titles: Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, etc.
Search for sarah siddons from the search box on the home page. Then use the left-side menu to Narrow Your Choices and REFINE TERMS to Entry Title. Adjust the results using Sort by from Relevance to Length-Longest to shortest.
Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia with a selective list of bibliographic citations, supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult by academic experts in the field.
Search English Renaissance Drama.
Indexes over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies and more, to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
The Modern Critical Edition (with modern spelling) is accompanied by extensive explanatory and performance notes, and innovative introductory materials.
The Critical Reference Edition (with original spelling) collects the same versions of the same works found in the Modern Critical Edition, keyed to the same line-numbering. This edition emphasizes book history and the documentary origins of each text.)
The Authorship Companion accompanies the Modern Critical Edition and the Critical Reference Edition, and concentrates on the issues of canon and chronology. It presents the evidence behind the choices made about which works Shakespeare wrote, in whole or part.
The three interconnected print publications and the online edition have been created by an international, intergenerational team of scholars under the leadership of Gary Taylor, John Jowett, Terri Bourus, and Gabriel Egan. The project's scope, depth, and vision provide the perfect platform for the future of Shakespeare studies.
Includes play texts and video of stage productions from Core Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, Playwrights Canada Press, Royal Shakespeare Company Live, Critical Studies & Performance Practice, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, and National Theatre Collection.
Contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. Includes leading playwrights, actors and directors. Students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging.
Try searching: brecht
Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Try searching sharon pollock
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
Selected as one of the Best Reference sources by the Library Journal, the ANB Online features nearly 18,000 biographies, thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Updates are published quarterly; in April, July, October, and January.
Anchored by the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion and will be useful to anyone researching or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.
Arranged by type of material, the book describes and evaluates the most significant directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies and other works on theatre and dance. Additional chapters discuss core periodicals, electronic discussion lists, useful associations, societies and important libraries and archives of theatrical and dance materials. Entries are designed to help readers choose appropriate sources for their purposes. Emphasis is on recent English-language works, but the book also includes significant older and foreign works.
This familiar guide to information resources in the humanities and the arts, organized by subjects and emphasizing electronic resources, enables librarians, teachers, and students to quickly find the best resources for their diverse needs.
This up-to-date reference book brings together 300 leading Canadianists to look at literature in Canada from a variety of perspectives. In over 2000 entries, acknowledging Canada's cultural plurality, the Encyclopedia discusses literature in English and French, and also in such other languages as Yiddish, Spanish, Haida and Cree; authors and their work; related literary and social issues; professional institutions that play a role in the lives of Canadian writers; and the major historical and cultural events that have shaped Canada.
A revision and complete updating of the editors' previous bibliography of Canadian theatre history and its supplement, this volume contains more than 8,000 new entries. Topically arranged, with author and keyword indexes it includes contributions from Patrick O'Neill, Jean Cléo Godin, Leonard Doucette, David Gardner, Anton Wagner and Malcolm Page.
More than a dozen years in the making, Reference Sources for Canadian Literary Studies offers the first full-scale bibliography of writing on and in the field of Canadian literary studies. Approximately one thousand annotated entries are arranged by reference genre, with sub-groupings related to literary genre. The text is comprehensive, covering related material found in special collections and archives, periodicals, dissertations and theses, anthologies, literary histories etc.
Ranging from the earliest drama to the theater of the 1980's this encyclopedia includes coverage of national drama and theater around the world, theater companies, and musical comedy. Arrangement of the 1,300 entries is alphabetically by name or subject with nearly 950 of these devoted to individual playwrights and their works.
This comprehensive study of dramatists, playwrights, historical development and genres contains individual articles on 198 dramatists in the first five volumes. Information for each dramatist includes: a listing of the dramatist's plays, dates of first release, a survey of publications in literary forms other than drama, a critical survey of the writer's professional achievements, a biographical sketch centered on the writer's dramatic development, critical analysis of the subject's canon, and a bibliography of criticism on the works of the dramatist.