Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic and Scoping Reviews Search Methodology

Pre-work tasks for Systematic and Scoping Reviews workshop

Please complete the following tasks before the workshop. The pre-work should take 45-60 minutes, and will save you time when conducting your review.

  1. Watch the video "The Steps of a Systematic Review"
  2. Visit the Research Guide for your subject area 
  3. Review the slides in these sections below:
    • What are systematic and scoping reviews? 
    • Identifying major concepts
    • Has a review already been done on your topic?
  4. Complete the "Identifying Major Concepts" worksheet
  5. Search at least one source for existing reviews or protocols on your topic
  6. View one of these tutorials about academic database searching:
  7. Try searching an academic database and bring a draft search on your topic to the workshop.

Evidence Synthesis Academy: The Steps of a Systematic Review

What are systematic and scoping reviews?

Has a review already been done on your topic?

Database searching tutorials

View one of these tutorials about academic database searching:

Try a search on your topic in an academic database of your choice (such as Ovid MEDLINE, Web of Science, ERIC, or PsycInfo).

Bring a draft of your search to the workshop, and your questions about database searching.

The Database Search Commands guide shows you some search techniques used in several common database platforms (Ovid, EBSCO, Web of Science).

 

Online Tutorials