Research Help
Finding Japanese Books
To find Japanese books and e-books, consult the UBC Library catalogue first. This is the easiest way to access UBC's Japanese book collections even though not all the e-book titles have a record in our catalogue. (To search all e-book titles, consult the e-book section of the Japanese Studies Resources guide.) The Library catalogue search can also be done on the Library home page through the Books & Media tab.
- SummonSummon is a search engine that provides a general starting point to find the majority of UBC Library's collections - including books, ebooks, scholarly journals and articles, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, videos, images, maps, manuscripts, music scores, digitized items and more.
- WorldCatThe world's largest library catalogue, containing records from OCLC member libraries from around the world, including the National Diet Library and Keio and Waseda University libraries.
Generally, use this site to locate a book for InterLibrary Loan request. - NDL Online 国立国会図書館オンラインSearch for library materials and digital contents at the National Diet Library.
- NDL Search 国立国会図書館サーチAn integrated search service of catalogues and digital archives including libraries, archives, academic institutes, and the National Diet Library.
Finding Japanese Journals at UBC
To find Japanese journals held at UBC, consult the UBC Library catalogue, and use the "Journal Title (begins with)" index as you see below.
Do not use the "Journal Titles" search tab in the Library home page or the Search Collections: Journals page because not all Japanese journals are discoverable in these portals.
 |
 |
InterLibrary Loans (ILL) from Japan
While Material Pick-up (an on-campus pick-up service) is available for circulating print resources in our collection, access to print InterLibrary Loans, including copying and scanning from print collections, is unavailable while the library is closed.
Please check the Library service updates for up-to-date information or ask the Japanese Studies Librarian for more information.
Under the regular circumstances, please go through the regular InterLibrary Loan (ILL) process for Japanese-language titles. First check Worldcat to see if the work is held by a North American institution or NDL. If it is held by NDL, then fill out the ILL form and in the "comments" box mark down the ISSN and NDL article record ID if it's a journal article, listed on the right hand column if it's through CiNii. If you are requesting a book, please include the ISBN, and record ID.