Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Featured Resources
- AIATSIS Collection Management Plan 2013-2016 [PDF]
Provides insight into the building and management of the Australian Insitute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) Collection, including strategic issues, priorities, actions taken, and specific strategies used.
- Sharing Knowledge and Smashing Stereotypes: Representing Native American, First Nation, and Indigenous Realities in Library Collections
Special issue from Collection Management highlighting the collection management and development considerations unique to Native American, First Nations, and Indigenous collections (2017).
- Indigenize Your Reading ListThese slides were presented during a May 2020 micro-learning webinar hosted by Maskwacis Cultural College. The presenter was Ashley Edwards, Indigenous Curriculum Resource Centre term Librarian at Simon Fraser University.
Featured Articles
- Barbara Kelly. (2010). Reflecting the lives of Aboriginal women in Canadian public library collection development. Partnership: The Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research, 5(2), 1-28.
- Brian Randall. (1997). Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander material at the John Oxley Library: Collection development and access. The Australian Library Journal, 46(4), 404-08.
- Deborah Lee. (2008). Indigenous knowledges and the university library. Canadian Journal of Native Education, 31(1), 149-161.
- International Federation of Library Associations. (2015). Indigenous literacy: Beyond bilingual signage and collection development. Proceedings from the IFLA Annual Conference.
- Kirsten Thorpe and Alex Byrne. (2016). Indigenous voices in the State Library of New South Wales. The Australian Library Journal, 65(1), 17-29.
- Martin Nakata, Victoria Nakata, Gabrielle Gardiner, Jill McKeough, Alex Byrne, Jay Gibson. (2008). Indigenous digital collections: An early look at the organisation and culture interface. Australian Academic & Research Libraries, 39(4), 223-36.
Records Information Management (RIM)
- Indigenous Archives and Record-keepingThe purpose of this page is to present a selection of resources to support Indigenous organizations, cultural memory-keepers, and archivists who find themselves working with community records and to further the care, access, and preservation of heritage materials within Indigenous communities.
- First Nations in BC Knowledge NetworkInformation management resources from the First Nations in BC Knowledge Network site.
- Mukurtu CMS: An Indigenous Archive and Publishing ToolMukurtu is a content management system and digital access tool for cultural heritage, built for and in ongoing dialogue with Indigenous communities. Mukurtu offers the ability to provide differential access to community members and the general public and to create space for traditional narratives and knowledge labels that foreground Indigenous knowledge in the metadata of digitized cultural heritage materials.
- Yukon Council of ArchivesSlides, resources, and documents outlining Indigenous issues within Records Information Management (RIM).