Try these basic strategies to begin your research in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Keyword Searches
Combine keywords relating to the concept of Indigenous identity AND keywords about librarianship. For example:
|
|
|
AND
|
|
Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Featured Books & Media
- Aboriginal and Visible Minority Librarians: Oral Histories from Canada edited by Deborah Lee, Mahalakshmi KumaranA collection of chapters written by librarians of color in Canada writing about their experiences working in libraries. In spite of working within community environments, they have experienced challenges, especially related to lack of funding. These librarians speak of having to deal with tokenism, lack of mentorship, and working in professional isolation. Some of them narrate their challenges in working with colleagues who do not relate to them. Lack of support is common, as many organizations do not have proper strategies to deal with discrimination. However, these chapters end with a positive note of encouragement for future librarians; the authors encourage all librarians to be engaged, find trusted mentors, seek help when needed, focus on professional development, and find a niche in the organization.
- Indigenous Knowledge Organization edited by Cheryl A. Metoyer & Ann M. DoyleVol. 5 & 6 of Cataloguing and Classification Quarterly focuses on Indigenous Knowledge Organization and the how and why Indigenous people express and fulfill their desire to learn, preserve, organize, and share knowledge at a higher level. Writers include Spencer C Lilley, Alissa Cherry and Keshav Mukunda, and Sandra Littletree.
- Indigitization's YouTube ChannelVideos posted by UBC's Indigitization about their ongoing work.
- Libraries, Human Rights, and Social Justice: Enabling Access and Promoting Inclusion by Paul T. Jaeger, Natalie Greene Taylor, Ursula GorhamThis book examines the interrelationships among digital literacy, digital inclusion, and public policy, emphasizing the impacts of policy decisions on participants in information society. This book will help librarians better understand and articulate their roles in promoting human rights and social justice, as well as educate policymakers, government officials, and professional in other fields. It explores the intersections of information, human rights, and social justice and addresses the differing roles of library institutions, library professionals, professional organizations, governments, and library patrons.
- Managing Digital Cultural Objects : Analysis, Discovery and Retrieval edited by Allen Foster and Pauline RaffertyThis book explores the analysis and interpretation, discovery and retrieval of a variety of non-textual objects, including image, music, and moving image. Bringing together chapters written by leading experts in the field, this book provides an overview of the theoretical and academic aspects of digital cultural documentation and the state of the art.
- Naming, Claiming, and (Re)Creating: Indigenous Knowledge Organization at the Cultural Interface by Ann Mary DoyleThis thesis looks at the weaknesses of the dominant library knowledge organization systems (KOS) in representing and organizing documents with Indigenous content. The study examines the nature of the problem and then explores ways in which Indigenous conceptual, theoretical and methodological approaches can generate new directions for KOS design. It's central research question is “How can Indigenous approaches to knowledge inform principles of design of library knowledge organization systems to serve Indigenous purposes?”
- The Politics of Theory and the Practice of Critical Librarianship edited by Karen P. Nicholson and Maura SealeLibrarians have increasingly looked to theory as a means to destabilize normative discourses and practices with LIS, to engage in inclusive and non-authoritarian pedagogies, and to organize for social justice. "Critlib", short for "critical librarianship," is variously used to refer to a growing body of scholarship, an intellectual or activist movement within librarianship, an online community that occasionally organizes in-person meetings, and an informal Twitter discussion space active since 2014.
- Tribal Libraries, Archives, and Museums : Preserving Our Language, Memory, and Lifeways edited by Loriene Roy, Anjali Bhasin, and Sarah K. ArriagaWhat is unique in tribal libraries is the commitment to tribal protocols and expressions of tribal lifeways--from their footprints on the land to their architecture and interior design, institutional names, signage, and special services, such as native language promotion. This book offers a collection of articles devoted to tribal libraries and archives and provides an opportunity for tribal librarians to share their stories, challenges, achievements, and aspirations with the larger professional community.
Finding Materials in the UBC Catalogue
Helpful Hints for Keyword Searches
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Example: "First Nations" - Use a question mark to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem.
Example: Librar? retrieves Library, Libraries, Librarian, Librarianship, etc.
Try these basic strategies to begin your research in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Subject Headings
Subject headings are a tool designed to help researchers find similar materials. These are only some examples of the many subject headings that X̱wi7x̱wa Library uses. Spend a few minutes exploring them when you find a book in the catalogue that supports your research.
Browse Catalogue > Subject begins with:
Try these basic strategies to begin your research in the UBC Library Catalogue.
Browse Call Numbers
X̱wi7x̱wa Library uses a unique Classification Scheme. Come by the library to browse the shelves or search for the following call numbers on our online catalogue.
Finding Videos
Try searching YouTube using the following keywords:
- Tribal libraries
- First Nations libraries
- Indigenous libraries
- Aboriginal archives
- Indigenous Knowledge Organization
- Indigitization
Presenter: Sofia Leung
This talk will examine the concept of knowledge as a core component of library and information studies (LIS) through the lens of Critical Race Theory (CRT). The following questions will be used to explore the responsibility LIS has to the so-called “public good.” What power and agency do library and archive workers have over knowledge? How has LIS created and maintained systems of oppression, such as White supremacy, colonialism, and racism? How does this impact Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) communities? Why is the experiential knowledge of BIPOC critical to imagining and building liberatory futures? And finally, what is our obligation to ourselves and our communities to disrupt and destroy the systems of oppression within LIS?