Related Guides
- Indigenous LibrarianshipSee page on Indigenous Cultural & Intellectual Property.
Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Featured Video
Dr Tahu Kukutai (Te Mana Raraunga)
Te Ritorito 2017: 'Understanding indigenous data sovereignty: Opportunities and challenges for whānau, hapū and iwi wellbeing"
Selected Resources
Kayla Lar-Son, Indigenous Services and Programs Librarian at the University of British Columbia, presents “Data as Relation: Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Ethic of Care”
- Australian Indigenous Knowledge and Libraries [e-book]Martin Nakata & Marcia Langton, editors (2006).
- Indigenous Intellectual Property Rights: Legal Obstacles and Innovative Solutions [book]Call Number: PA R55 N35 2004
Non-circulating.
By Mary Riley (2004). - Indigenous Knowledge in Canada's Copyright Act (Canadian Federation of Library Association)Position statement on Indigenous Knowledge in Canada's Copyright Act (2018).
- Indigenous Knowledges: Local Priorities, Global ContextsInternational Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) 2012 Presidential Programme.
- Indigenous Repatriation HandbookPrepared by the Royal BC Museum and the Haida Gwaii Museum at Kay Llnagaay (2019).
- Intellectual Property and the Safeguarding of Traditional Cultures (World Intellectual Property Organization)Offers legal information and compiles practical experiences on the management of intellectual property for cultural institutions whose collections comprise traditional cultural expressions. By Jane Anderson and Molly Torsen (2010).
- Intellectual property rights, legislated protection sui generis models and ethical access in the transformation of indigenous traditional knowledge [unpublished dissertation]Also available in print from X̱wi7x̱wa Library. Call Number: PA Y68 N74 2006.
By Gregory Younging (2006). - Keeping Cultures Alive: Archives and Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property RightsBy Terri Janke and Livia Iacovino (2012).
- Knight, Emma. 2017, “Unpacking the Museum Register: Institutional Memories of the Potlatch Collection Repatriation, Museum Worlds, Volume 5: Issue 1, pp. 35-47Working largely from archival documents, this article examines the material traces of the confiscated and repatriated Kwakwaka’wakw potlatch collection that remains in the museum register. I unpack the museum register to demonstrate that, in lieu of a predetermined repatriation process, museum staff relied instead on existing administrative processes to navigate this largely uncharted territory of repatriation in the 1960s. These highly formalized processes or rituals served to reaffirm institutional identity in the face of an uncontrollable element—repatriation. Using the museum register, this article provides a historical lens through which to view the personal and institutional shifts that were necessary for this early repatriation to occur. The contemporary repatriation ceremonies performed by Kwakwaka’wakw peoples and the contemporary significance of the repatriated regalia in Alert Bay and Cape Mudge point to the ways repatriation processes and relationships have changed over time.
- Minding Culture: Case Studies on Intellectual Property and Traditional Cultural Expressions. Geneva: The World Intellectual Property OrganizationEight case studies on protecting material and immaterial cultural expression, including textiles, rock art, dance, and more. By Terri Janke (2003).
- Octopus and Cannonball [video clip]Keynote presentation by Val Napoleon, Indigenous legal scholar. From IFLA 2012 Presidential Programme.
- Ownership, Control, Access and Possession (OCAP-tm)The Path to First Nations Information Governance (1-49).
Models for Collaboration
- IPinCH: Intellectual property issues in cultural heritage (SFU)Explores the rights, values, and responsibilities of material culture, cultural knowledge and the practice of heritage research.
Traditional Knowledge Documentation
Toolkit for the Digitization of First Nations Knowledge (Indigitization)
The purpose of the toolkit is to provide a reference document as well as a series of templates for BC First Nations communities interested in undertaking digitization projects. The Indigitization toolkit also fits into a broader goal to provide support to First Nations communities in the management of their information.
Indigitization is a B.C. based collaborative initiative between Indigenous communities and organizations, the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, the Museum of Anthropology, Northern BC Archives (UNBC), and the School for Library, Archival and Information Studies, to facilitate capacity building in Indigenous information management.
Traditional Knowledge Documentation Toolkit (World Intellectual Property Organization)
Provides basic information about documenting traditional knowledge, and in particular the intellectual property implications, with practical guidance on key issues that need to be thought-through before, during, and after documenting traditional knowledge. (2017).
Traditional Knowledge Labels and Licenses
- Local ContextsAn initiative to support Indigenous communities in the management of their intellectual property and cultural heritage specifically within the digital environment. Local Contexts provides legal, extra-legal, and educational strategies for navigating copyright law and the public domain status of this valuable cultural heritage, including Traditional Knowledge Labels and Licenses.
- Christen, K. (2015). Tribal Archives, Traditional Knowledge, and Local Contexts: Why the “s” Matters. Journal of Western Archives, 6(1).Introduces the Local Contexts project and the Traditional Knowledge License and Label platform as one intervention into the arena of Indigenous intellectual property rights and the digital commons.
Finding Materials on Cultural and Intellectual Property
Subject Headings
Subject headings are a tool designed to help researchers find similar materials. These are only some examples of the many subject headings that X̱wi7x̱wa Library uses. Spend a few minutes exploring them when you find a book in the catalogue that supports your research.
Browse Catalogue > Subject begins with:
- First Nations--Intellectual property.
- First Nations--Cultural property.
- First Nations--Cultural property--Repatriation.
- Indigenous peoples--Cultural property.
- Intellectual property.
- Cultural property.
Keyword Search
Search for the phrase "Indigenous cultural and intellectual property" in Summon.
Helpful Hints for Keyword Searches
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Example: "First Nations" - Use an asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem when searching Summon. (Use a question mark when searching the UBC Library Catalogue)
Example: Method* retrieves Method, Methods, Methodology, Methodologies, Methodological, etc.