Indigenous Research Methodologies

Indexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles.
Subject Terms: First Nations, Métis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations.
Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches.

Collection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.

Full-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Use advanced search or filters to narrow your results.
Search keywords: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal, Métis, Inuit.

Full-text collection of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals. Use filters to narrow your results.
Search keywords: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal, Métis, Inuit.

Over 980 education journals. Covers 1969 to the present, most post-1993 articles have full text available. First Nations titles include Winds of Change, American Indian Higher Education, Tribal College, Cultural Survival Quarterly, and Wicazo Sa.
Search terms: Canada Natives (for Canadian content), Alaska Natives, American Indians, Eskimos and Indigenous populations. Use the Thesaurus for more terms and more precise terms.

Indexes over 4,000 journals and series (1926 - present) with some First Nations language and literature coverage. Includes journals such as, Studies in American Indian Literature; North Dakota Quarterly; American Indian Culture & Research; Canadian Journal of Native Studies. Search terms: folk-literature, folk narrative, oral history or search by author name: Sherman Alexie, Joy Harjo, Gerald Vizenor, Lee Maracle, Thomas King, etc.

Full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. Primary focus: Indigenous peoples of Canada. Secondary focus: North American materials and beyond.

Library Catalogue to departmental Library collections, and some special research collections at AANDC.

Aboriginal Resources and Services from private and government sources, including rare dictionaries and grammar books in Aboriginal languages; Northwest Scrip Commission papers; Treaty and census records; genealogical resources; art; photographic and cartographic records; and audio-visual and sound recordings.