- Last Updated: Aug 5, 2025 10:49 AM
Unless otherwise stated
Beginning August 5, 2025, UBC Library will begin a two-step migration of its subscribed EBSCOhost databases to a new, redesigned user interface (UI).
While the new UI design brings benefits like improved accessibility, it also represents a change in workflow and process for some existing users.
This guide has been created to support UBC Library users throughout the transition. It will continue be updated through December 2025. Library employees are welcome to reuse content in other subject guides or communications.
Questions about guide content can be directed to Rebecca Dickson, Ryan Regier, and/or Arielle Lomness. Suggestions are welcome!
UBC’s main EBSCOhost profile will switch to the new interface on Tuesday, August 5, 2025. Alerts have been added to the Resource Pages for the 50+ EBSCOhost databases that will be impacted.
Meanwhile, to minimize disruption to knowledge synthesis work in medicine and the allied health sciences, EBSCO has allowed UBC to keep the following five (5) databases accessible on the legacy EBSCOhost UI until Monday, December 22, 2025:
This access will be provided via our existing EBSCOhost health profile, which is already used for CINAHL and MEDLINE--users of those databases won't notice a change. PsycInfo, PsycArticles, and SPORTDiscus have been newly added to the health profile.
Please note that these 5 databases will also be searchable on the new UI as of Aug 5. Users who want to search across all subscribed EBSCOhost databases in the new UI will be able to do so. Advanced searchers in medicine and the allied health sciences can use this as an opportunity to use both interfaces side-by-side, comparing features and updating workflows as needed.
On December 22, 2025, all remaining databases will be migrated to the new UI. This date was selected to avoid disrupting users during the exam period, while leaving time for the Library to address any post-migration issues before the University closes for winter break. EBSCO plans to fully retire the legacy UI by December 31.
After switchover, the old UI "health" profile will become a dedicated medicine/allied health profile on the new EBSCOhost UI. Like in the old UI health profile, the configuration will be optimized for complex searches--that will just look a bit different in the new interface. We expect a final version of that profile will be available for testing in early November, after additional advanced search enhancements are implemented in October and tested by the Library.
Our new EBSCOhost UI configuration will be finalized in late July, after EBSCO releases additional search enhancements.
In the meantime, users are welcome to start familiarizing themselves with the new interface.
EBSCO is continuing to make updates to the new UI based on feedback from subscribers. The Library is continuing to monitor their progress to ensure the needs of UBC users are met.
Library employees are encouraged to contact Rebecca Dickson, Ryan Regier, and/or Arielle Lomness with any questions or concerns.