Vancouver - Government Publications - British Columbia - Research Guides at University of British Columbia

Municipal Elections (Vancouver)

City of Vancouver: Includes information on previous municipal elections and a list of City of Vancouver Councils (including mayors) from 1886 onwards. The site also links to legislation including the Vancouver Charter.
City of Vancouver Open Data: Municipal Election Results: Provides access to election results from 1996 - Present.
City Council salaries and expenses: The current members of City Council must submit annual financial disclosure statements each year on January 15 to comply with the BC Financial Disclosure Act. Salary and expense information is also available.
CivicInfo BC: Has local election results, voter turnout figures, referendum results, and more from across the province 2008 - Present.
City of Vancouver Archives: This is a great place to gain access to older election materials, such as: voting division maps & lists, candidate campaign literature, record of elections from 1886 - 2002, Electoral Boundary Commission reports. It is also a great source of print materials on local government history, politics, law, and planning.
Guide to voting: Information on the city elections, including who can vote, registration, and ballots.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canada Commons is an unmatched resource for Canadian content. It offers a bilingual (English-French) interface that gives Canadian readers access to all content in their language of choice. Originally named the Canadian Electronic Library, it is boasts a collection of ebooks which has been available to libraries since 2005. The Canadian Documents Collection includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, numbered series, working papers, political party platforms, evidence reviews, systematic reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.

City of Vancouver Archives
The Archive has City of Vancouver government records (public records), including Council minutes and materials related to civic elections, records of non-government organizations, businesses and individuals (private records) and historical maps.
Muniscope (Intergovernment Committee on Urban and Regional Research - ICURR)
Search this publicly accessible catalogue to discover "more than 16,000 items culled together to meet the information needs of local government officials, provincial policy planners, urban and regional planners, and other professionals interested in municipal issues."
ProFile index : Canadian provincial and municipal publications.
Contains Canadian provincial and municipal publications, including those for Metro Vancouver, published between January 1, 1973 and January 1, 1979. Types of publications include, "Annual reports, budget statements, estimates, public accounts, statistical summaries, board/committee reports, official plans, organizational manuals, planning reports, research studies" and more. Each document has its own call number and is filed in the Microlog cabinets beside the print station, Koerner Library, floor 2. There is an author/subject index for this collection available at: Z1373.5 .A12.