Research Help
Getting Started
This guide is intended to help student researchers of Linguistic Anthropology. The guide was created for ANTH 317 taught by Dr. Pat Moore.
The goals of ANTH 317 are to familiarize students with contemporary approaches in linguistic anthropology and to develop their ability to use standard forms of linguistic description. Students will learn how language data is used to document culturally situated language use. They will gain an understanding of theoretical issues relating to the origins of human language, formal descriptions of language, universal and language-specific features of language, the role of culture in language use, language and gender, language and social class, language and identity, language ideology, the language of space and place, literacy, and contact induced language change.
Reviews and Bibliographies
Oxford Bibligraphies Online - Anthropology
Overview articles for more than 180 topics in anthropology and archaeology. Each article includes citations to and contextualization of key works on a topic. Bibliographies relevant to ANTH 317 include:
- Linguistic Anthropology
- Structuralism
- Linguistic Relativity
- Language Ideology
- Performativity
- Semiotics
Annual Review of Anthropology
Comprehensive critical reviews on topics in Anthropology. The reviews summarize a topic and guide you to the principal contributions of the field. Search the archives for your topic to see if a review has been written on your area of research.
Reference/Background Information
Reference materials provide background information on a topic and are especially useful at the beginning of a research project . They can help you get an overview of a topic, define terms, theories, and persons in the field, and find further readings written by experts in the field.
The Routledge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology by The Routledge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology is a broad survey of linguistic anthropology. Each chapter presents a brief historical summary of research in the field and discusses topics and issues of current concern to people doing research in linguistic anthropology.
The Cambridge Handbook of Linguistic AnthropologyTthis authoritative handbook is an essential reference guide for students and researchers working on language and culture across the social sciences.
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and SexualityExamines the dynamic ways that women and men develop and manage gendered identities through their talk, presenting data and case studies from interactions in a range of social contexts and different communities Includes new chapters on research in non-English speaking countries - from Asia to South America - and cutting-edge topics such as language, gender, and popular culture;language and sexual identities; and language, gender, and socio-phonetics
The Cambridge Handbook of SociolinguisticsISBN: 9780521897075As well as linguistic perspectives, the handbook includes insights from anthropology, social psychology, the study of discourse and power, conversation analysis, theories of style and styling, language contact and applied sociolinguistics.
