Literature Reviews
"Literature review" typically refers to work produced in the context of an article in an academic publication or as part of a Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation.
- Literature ReviewsRefer to Literature Reviews Research Guide for a comprehensive step-by-step to finding information sources for a literature review for a master's or PhD thesis.
Citation Analysis & Impact Factors
Citation Analysis is the examination of the frequency and patterns of citations in articles and books.
It can be used to evaluate the impact of individual research, mapping impact in a field of research or journal, discover related research, or decide on a publication in which to publish.
A Journal Impact Factor (JIF) is used to indicate the relative importance of a journal within a given field and a higher JIF is seen as providing more “authority” or “weight” to a researchers’ work.
For much more detailed information, see UBC Library's Citation Analysis & Impact Factors page:
Searching Article Databases
Articles are specific in scope and can also provide information on current trends and issues. Article databases listed here are available through the library and allow you to search hundreds of journals, magazines or newspapers for information on a variety of topics.
Learn the basics of searching for articles in business databases in our short video below, or refer to our Research Tips guide for for examples of how to search article databases effectively, like using single words or short phrases.
(Sample video content from Business Source Ultimate database used by permission of EBSCO Publishing.)
Behavioural Research Article Databases
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Business Article Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowBusiness articles, market research reports, company SWOT analyses.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowCanadian journals and magazines.
- Emerald Publishing This link opens in a new windowArticles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGlobal business and industry news service. Also find company profiles, including downloadable financials (5 yrs) and stock quotes (2 yrs).
Technavio industry reports can be found by typing: rst=technv AND your industry keyword - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext.
- Nexis UniArticles and full text news, government, legal, finance and business information services.
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading advertising journals and unpublished papers, on communications, marketing methods, consumers.