First Nations Languages of British Columbia: Wakashan

• Comparative Wakashan dictionary (2007)
• North Wakashan comparative root list / Lincoln Neville (1980)
• Wakashan Language Family From the Native Languages of the Americas site
• Wakashan Linguistics Page Research on the Wakashan languages, including links and a comprehensive bibliography from the University of Washington (last updated 2010).
• Archives of Wakashan Listserv - searchable archive of the Wakashan language listserv from March 2003 -March 2005.

For more resources on Wakashan languages in general, please search the library catalogue using the subject heading Wakashan Languages.

• Haisla Language Includes a comprehensive bibliography (Last updated in 2006)
• Haisla Language - From the Native Languages of the Americas site, with links to texts, vocabulary, and orthography examples
• Ethnologue entry for Haisla
• Phonology, dictionary, and listing of roots and lexical derivates of the Haisla language of Kitlope and Kitimaat, B.C. / Neville J. Lincoln (1986)
• A first course in Haisla (1974)

For more resources, consult the library catalogue under the subject heading Haisla Language.

• Heiltsuk Language Bibliography (last updated in 2006)
• Ethnologue entry for Heiltsuk
• A practical Heiltsuk-English dictionary with a grammatical introduction / John C. Rath (1981)
• Conversational Heiltsuk 2 : a day in Bella Bella / text editors, Margaret Campbell (1989)
• The Heiltsuks : dialogues of culture and history on the Northwest Coast / Michael E. Harkin (1997 online, also print)

For more resources, please search the library catalogue using the subject heading Heiltsuk--Language.

• Language, culture, and identity : social and cultural aspects of language change in two Kwak’wala-speaking communities / Anne-Marie Goodfellow (UBC PhD Thesis, 1999)
• A practical writing system and short dictionary of Kwakw'ala (Kwakiutl) / David McC. Grubb (1977) 
• Learning Kwak̓wala series / by Jay Powell (1981-) Series of 12 readers with a teacher's manual.
• Kwak'wala language lessons / Peter Wilson (1980)
• Sketch of the Kwakiutl language / Franz Boas (1900? online)
• Kwakiutl Texts / Franz Boas (1902, online via the American Museum of Natural History)
• Reversing Language Shift: Can Kwak'wala Be Revived / Stan Anonby (Chapter 4 of Revitalizing Indigenous Languages, 1999) 
• Kwak'wala Language includes a language sample, information on pronunciation, and a chart of Kwak'wala communities. From LanguageGeek (Last updated 2011)
• Kwak'wala Language Page includes a comprehensive bibliography (Last updated 2006)
• Kwakiutl Language - From the Native Languages of the Americas site, with links to texts, vocabulary, and orthography examples (Last updated 2009)
• Kwakiutl Language, Alphabet, and Orthography - Phonological inventory of Kwakiutl, with a sample text from Omniglot (last updated in 2011)

For more resources, please search the library catalogue using the subject heading Kwak'wala Language and Kwakiutl Language.

• Nuu-chah-nulth Language Bibliography (last updated in 2009) 
• The Study of Nuuchahnulth Grammar: Consequences for a theory of language
• A concise dictionary of the Nuuchahnulth language of Vancouver Island compiled and edited by John Stonham (2005)
• Nuuchahnulth (Nootka) morphosyntax / Toshihide Nakayama (2001) 
• Nuu-Chah-Nulth Language - From the Native Languages of the Americas site, with links to texts, vocabulary, and orthography examples (last updated in 2009)
• Nuu-chah-nulth - Learn our language - audio files of phrases, words, and alphabet
• Nuu-chah-nulth Community Portal - First Voices site, with links to audio files
• Nuu-chah-nulth Language includes a language sample, information on pronunciation, and a chart of Kwak'wala communities. From LanguageGeek
• Dididaht Language First Voices

For more resources, please search the library catalogue using the subject heading Nootka Language and Nuu-chah-nulth Language

Haida Gwaii Ink Pot by Derek Tan.

Museum of Anthropology