First Nations Languages of British Columbia: Salishan

• Salish languages and linguistics : theoretical and descriptive perspectives / edited by Ewa Czaykowska-Higgins, M. Dale Kinkade (1997)
• The Salish people : the local contribution of Charles Hill-Tout / edited with an introduction by Ralph Maud (1978 with a separate linguistic appendix; catalogued individually at Xwi7xwa Library)
• A bibliography of Salish Linguistics / Jan van Eijk (Last updated 2008)
• Bibliography of Material on Salishan Languages (Last updated 2006, archived 2011)
• The Kinkade Collection: An Online Archive of Papers for the International Conferences on Salish (and Neighbo(u)ring Languages)
• A bibliography of the Athapaskan languages / Richard T. Parr (1974)
• Bibliography of the Salishan languages / by James Constantine Pilling (1893 online)

For more books on this topic, look under the subject heading Salishan Languages.

There are three large groupings of Salishan Languages: Núxalk, Coast Salish, and Interior Salish.

• A grammar of Bella Coola / Philip W. Davis and Ross Saunders (1997) 
• A concise Nuxalk-English dictionary / H.F. Nater (1990)
• The Bella Coola language / H.F. Nater (1984)
• Bella Coola Texts / P.W. Philips and R. Saunders (1980)
• Bella Coola Indians / Dorothy Kennedy (1977 online, also print)
• Stem list of the Bella Coola language / H.F. Nater (1977)

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Nuxalk Language and Bella Coola Language.

Halkomelem (includes Musqueam)

• Dictionary of upriver Halkomelem / Brent D. Galloway (2009)
• Musqueam reference grammar / Wayne Suttles (2004 online, also print)
• Dialect survey of Halkomelem Salish / D. B. Gerdts (1977 online)
• Introduction to Hul'q'umi'num' (University of Victory language instruction website with audio lessons)
• Hunq̓umỉn̉um ̉: Musqueam language / by Arnold Guerin and J.V. Powell (1975)
• Halkomelem Bibliography (last updated 2006, archived 2011)
• Halkomelem Keyboard from Language Geek 
• The structure of upriver halq'eméylem: A grammatical sketch (Second ed., 2010) 

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Halkomelem Language and Musqueam Language.

Squamish 

• Squamish Language.com (temporarily offline)
• English-Squamish dictionary / by Carl Ian Walker (1973)
• Squamish language / A.H. Kuipers (1967)
• Na mi k’anatsut ta Sk̲wx̲wu7mesh snichim chet : Squamish language revitalization : from the hearts and the minds of the language speakers / K. Bakers-William (2006 online)

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject heading Squamish Language.

Secwepemc (Shuswap)

• English-Secwepemc Dictionary / by the Elder's Language Committee and Language Advisory Committee ; [put together by Mona Jules and Strang Burton] (2001)
• Shuswap-English dictionary / by A.H. Kuipers (1983)
• Shuswap teachers' manual / Vickie Jensen, Jay Powell, Joy Wild (1983)
• Learning Shuswap / Jay Powell, Vickie Jensen, Phyllis Chelsea (1979)
• Let's study Shuswap / Vickie Jensen, Jay Powell, Celina Harry (1979) 
• A classified English-Shuswap word-list / A. H. Kuipers (1975)
• The Shuswap language / Aert H. Kuipers (1974)

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Secwepemc Language and Shuswap Language.

Straits Salish

• Straits Salish Bibliography (last updated 2007, archived 2011)
• A phonology, morphology, and classified word list for the Samish dialect of Straits Salish / Brent D. Galloway (1990)
• An outline of the morphology and phonology of Saanich, North Straits Salish / Timothy Montler (1986 online, also print) 
• Saanich, North Straits Salish classified word list / by Timothy Montler (1991 online, also print)

Sechelt

• Sechelt Dictionary / Ronald C. Beaumont (2011)
• She shashishalhem, the Sechelt language : language, stories and sayings of the Sechelt Indian people of British Columbia / Ronald C. Beaumont (1985) 
• A classified English-Sechelt word-list / J.A. Timmers  (1977) 

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Sechelt Language.

Comox/Sliamon

• A Grammatical Sketch of Comox / Herbert Harris (1981 PhD Thesis) 
• Le comox lhaamen de Colombie Britannique : présentation d'une langue amérindienne / Claude Hagège (1981)
• Comox Language Internet Portal 
• Comox/Sliamon Bibliography (last updated in 2007, archived 2011)

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings and Comox Indians--language and Sliammon.

Nlaka'pamux (Thompson Language)

• Nlaka'pamux Internet Portal on Native Languages
• Thompson River Salish dictionary : nłe?kepmxcín / compiled by Laurence C. Thompson and M. Terry Thompson (1996) 
• The Thompson language / Laurence C. Thompson, and M. Terry Thompson (1992)
• A Grammatical Sketch of Thompson / Laurence C. Thompson and M. Terry Thompson (1976)
• Stylized Characters' Speech in Thompson Salish Narrative / Steven M. Egesdal (1975)

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Ntlakyapamuk language and Nlaka'pamux--Language.

Okanagan

• InteriorSalish.com (website dedicated to four Southern Interior Salish languages including Colville-Okanagan)
• Colville-Okanagan Language at Wikipedia (includes an extensive linguistic bibliography)
• Colville-Okanagan dictionary / compiled by Anthony Mattina (1987)
• Colville-Okanagan language / Lambert M. Surhone (2010)
• Okanagan language lessons / Andrew McGinnis (200? available via DocDel from UBC Okanagan) Includes 4 CDs.
• Douglas Lake Okanagan : phonology and morphology / by Lois Cornelia Pattison (1978) 

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject headings Colville Dialect and Okanagan Valley (B.C.)--Languages. 

Lillooet

• The Lillooet language: phonology, morphology, syntax / Jan van Eijk (1997 online, also print)
• Nqwaluttenlhkalha English to Statimcets Dictionary (2002) This volume is specific to the dialect around Fountain. 
• When I was small = I wan kwikws : a grammatical analysis of St'át'imc oral narratives / by Lisa Matthewson (2005 online, also print)
• Cuystwi Malh Ucwalmicwts - Ucwalmicuts curriculum for beginners (1979) 
• Cuystwí malh ucwalmícwts = Teach yourself Lillooet : ucwalmícwts curriculum for advanced learners (1981)
• Bibliography of the Lillooet Language (Last updated in 2007)
• Statimcets Keyboard from Language Geek

For more resources, search the library catalogue under the subject heading Lillooet--Language. 

Haida Gwaii Ink Pot by Derek Tan.

Museum of Anthropology