Law - WTO/GATT & International Trade Law

The WTO Analytical Index is a comprehensive guide to the interpretation and application of the WTO Agreements by the Appellate Body, dispute settlement panels and other WTO bodies. It contains extracts of key pronouncements and findings from tens of thousands of pages of WTO jurisprudence, including panel reports, Appellate Body reports, Article 21.3(c) awards and Article 22.6 decisions. This unique work will be of assistance to anyone working in the field of WTO law, including lawyers, economists, academics and students. It is produced by the Legal Affairs Division of the WTO Secretariat with contributions from other divisions of the Secretariat and the Appellate Body Secretariat. The third edition of the WTO Analytical Index covers developments in WTO law and practice over the period January 1995 to September 2011.

The GATT Analytical Index is similar to the above noted WTO Analytical Index. It contains notes on the drafting, interpretation and application of the articles of the GATT.

The Repertory covers the Appellate Body's rulings on WTO disputes since its establishment in 1995. This fifth edition includes a considerable body of new material taken from the 13 Appellate Body reports and one arbitration award issued between January 2010 and December 2013. The publication provides excerpts from Appellate Body findings on a variety of disputes, including the aircraft subsidy disputes between the United States and the European Union. The new material also covers key rulings made by the Appellate Body on issues such as open hearings.

Part of the WestNutshell series, this book provides a concise introduction to the subject of international trade and investment, covering such subjects as litigation and arbitration issues, including state immunity and acts of the state.

This book places international trade law within its broader context, providing comment and critique on contemporary thinking.

This book provides a critical analysis of the institutions and agreements that have shaped international trade rules. In light of the growing debate over globalization, they include special sections with examinations of topics such as: agriculture services and Trade-Related Intellectual Property Rights labour rights the environment migration competition. The fourth edition includes full coverage of new developments including the Doha trade round, the proliferation of Preferential Trade Agreements, the debate on trade, climate change and green energy, the response of the trading system to the 2007--10 financial and economic crisis, the controversy over trade and exchange rate manipulation, and the growing body of WTO dispute resolution case law.

This work provides a concise explanation of what the WTO is, what it does, and how it goes about its work.

This book provides a complete overview of the law and practice of the WTO. The authors begin with the institutional law of the WTO (such as the sources of law and remedies of the dispute settlement system), then tackle the principal substantive obligations of the WTO regime (including tariffs, quotas, and MFN). They then move on to consider unfair trade, regional trading arrangements, and developing countries. In its final section the book deals with the consequences of globalization: firstly, where free trade is seen to be incompatible with environmental protection and, secondly, where WTO law confronts legal regimes governing issues of competition and intellectual property.

WTO Dispute Settlement: One-Page Case Summaries provides a succinct summary of the key findings of every dispute panel report up to the end of 2016 and, where applicable, the subsequent Appellate Body report. Each one-page summary comprises three sections: the core facts; the key findings contained in the reports; and, where relevant, other matters of particular significance. The disputes are presented in chronological order (by dispute settlement number). Two indexes at the end of the publication list the disputes by WTO agreement and by WTO member responding to the complaint.

This work explains clearly and thoroughly all the provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT). It examines the Agreement article by article and also steers practitioners through the case law based upon it. For each Article it examines the relevant business issues, explains the meaning of the Article, discusses all interpreventive and adjudicatory decisions that bear upon it, and also discusses alternative theoretical underpinnings of the Article. Areas of uncertainty and ambiguity are highlighted throughout.

This volume examines the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. It explains the amount of sovereignty that nations lose by joining the World Trade Organization and gains that ensure from the resulting cooperation.

This study discusses the strengths and limitations of the World Trade Organization and how it attempts to meet new demands.

The book was prepared as an easily understandable introduction to the results of the Uruguay Round of Trade Negotiations.

This work presents a history of the Uruguay negotiations, portraying how participating nations reached their positions on the proposed major changes in trade in agriculture and textiles, adoption of rules for trade in services, review of existing trade regulations, increased protection of intellectual property rights and the liberalization of the market for many important products.

This work examines the implementation of the GATT Agreement and its national and international legal and constitutional ramifications. Each major trading entity is covered and select nations are discussed in detail.

This loose-leaf service includes texts of the foundational documents of the WTO, commentary, and decisions of the WTO Dispute Settlement panels. It is a continuation of Law and Practice Under the GATT [LAW LIBRARY level 3: K4609.5 .L39].

online via HeinOnline
This journal provides the basic, primary documents of research and analysis on topics of international law, including important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations’ resolutions and other documents.

online via Oxford Journals & HeinOnline
This journal covers a broad range of topics concerning the relation of law to international economic activity.