Background Sources
The Oxford Handbook of the American Presidency by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199238859Publication Date: 2009-10-25
The Presidents by Call Number: E176.1 .P918 1996 ReferenceISBN: 0684804719Publication Date: 1996The first edition of The Presidents was named Best Reference Book by Library Journal, and is recognized as the standard reference on our presidents. Now updated with articles on Reagan, Bush, Clinton, and the role of the first lady, the second edition gives in-depth analyses on each president and his administration.
How to Research the Presidency by Call Number: Z1249.P7 M365 1996ISBN: 1568020287Publication Date: 1996-04-01
The Executive Office of the President by Call Number: JK552 .E94 1997 ReferenceISBN: 0313264767Publication Date: 1997
White House
The White House This is the official website for the White House and is a source of information about the current Administration, White House News and the three branches of US Government. Typical documents found here include: Presidential proclamations, press releases, Executive orders and Presidential memoranda, the Weekly Address and Presidential agendas
- The US National Archives - along with the Office of Presidential Libraries - oversees the Presidential Libraries for the Presidents from Herbert Hoover onwards. These Libraries exist both as "bricks & mortar" museums and as digital repositories.
President
1. Public Papers of the Presidents
The Public Papers of the Presidents is a compilation of Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. It is issued in serveral volumes for each administration.
2. Weekly Compilation / Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other material released by the White House Press Secretary. While the Weekly Compilation has been published in print since 1963, it is only available online from 1993. Note, after January 29th, 2009 this publication was replaced by Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, both are available from FDsys at the link above.
3. Presidents of the United States ( Library of Congress)
Contains a large selection of primary source materials associated with various Presidents of the United States, including manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, prints, photographs, sheet music, sound recordings, and films..
4. The American Presidency Project:(UCSB)
Provides a comprehensive array of Presidential documents from 1789 to present. The archives also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates. Includes State of the Union Addresses.
5. Presidential Papers Collection (Library of Congress)
Coverage from George Washington to John F. Kennedy.
Budget
The Budget of the United States Government .
1996 - present through GPO's govinfo site
Print: 1940 - 1971, see call no.: HJ2051.A57 and from 1972 - present, see call no.: HJ2051.A57.
Note:
- UBC Library's print collection is complete from 1958-1971 and from 1978 - present. The print Budgets from the 1940s, 1950s and early 1970s are missing volumes.
- An unofficial version of the Budgets from 1923 to present is available online "through a partnership between GPO and the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis" at FRASER.
Public Budget Database
The Public Budget Database provides account level detail for budget authority, outlays and receipts. The data covers a period from 1976 to a five-year projection (from 1962 for outlays). This data is provided in various formats along with a user's guide.
FY 2003, FY 2004, FY 2005, FY 2006, FY 2007, FY 2008, FY 2009, FY 2010, FY 2011, FY 2012, FY 2013, FY 2014, FY2015, FY2016, FY2017-Present
USAspending.gov
The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (Transparency Act) requires a single searchable website, accessible by the public for free that includes for each Federal award:
1. the name of the entity receiving the award;
2. the amount of the award;
3. information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc;
4. the location of the entity receiving the award;
5. a unique identifier of the entity receiving the award.
Presidential Messages
Weekly Compiliation of Presidential documents.
- Online - HeinOnline / 1965 - present
- Print - J80. A24 / 1965-2009
Compiliation of Presidential Documents (GPO's govinfo site)
- 1993+
- issued weekly on Mondays
- consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Document
- contains proclamations, executive orders, speeches, press conferences, appointments, nominations etc.
- each issue has a cumulative index for the year, with separate quarter, semiannual and annual indexes
- contents are later incorporated into the semi-annual Public Papers of the Presidents