Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 500 001 - Research Methodology in Education

Education Databases

Other Subject Databases

Developing Your Search Strategy

Step 1. Choosing your topic + developing your question

  • Centered around your chosen topic

Step 2. Keyword selection

  • Subject headings, preferred terms, synonyms, abbreviations, acronyms, variant spellings, scientific names vs. colloquial names, etc.
  • Use database thesauri to find preferred terms and subject headings
  • Searching in Google can often help to identify synonyms that are commonly used

Using Limiters

Step 3. Scope

Questions to consider before selecting limiters:

  1. Are there certain countries of publication you are focusing on? Certain languages of publication? 
  2. Is there a date range you are looking to discuss and does this impact the range of literature you want to review? 
  3. Are you looking for all types of literature - published, grey literature, peer-reviewed, books, articles, etc.? 

Applying common limiters:

  • Date range - e.g. past 10 years
    • Note - since we are in early 2016, you may want to go 11 years or pick a firm start year
  • Peer-review
  • Language

Complex search tips:

  1. Boolean Logic
  2. Truncation:
    • Using the root of the word – add an * at the end to bring back all endings
  3. Phrase Searching:
    • Use quotations around more than one word
    • Note: doesn't function in all databases

Choosing Databases

Step 4. Select Search Locations + Step 5. Searching

Searching for journal articles, theses/dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, etc.:

  1. Try reviewing subject/research guides in your appropriate areas to see which databases are suggested. 
  2. Review the UBC Library list of databases
    • Can narrow by subject area, although not always comprehensive
  3. Consult with your professor and/or supervisor(s) for suggested resources

Searching for books and items not found in databases:

  1. Use Summon, the general library search tool, to look for print and e-books available through the library
    • Summon can also be used to find related materials in databases that may have been outside of your original plan. 

Unavailable Resources?

Document Delivery - bring in Vancouver library materials

InterLibrary Loan - bring in materials from other institutions

Suggest a Book Form - have a title you would like to see in the library?