Research Guides: Hospitality and Tourism Industries: Industry Overviews

Industry Codes

Some market research databases and websites organize business information using industry codes. The two industry classification systems you will come across most often are NAICS and SIC.

Example NAICS codes:

Industry & Market Research Databases

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Provides market analysis and forecasting on a wide range of major emerging technological and scientific developments in the industrial, pharmaceutical and high technology sectors worldwide.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles for a variety of industries and locations, as well as country business & economic profiles.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
The CB Insights tech market intelligence platform analyzes millions of data points on venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships and news mentions to predict emerging technologies and trends.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Market research and trend analysis on digital media, marketing and commerce. Topics covered include B2B and B2C eBusiness, online consumer behaviour, social media, mobile devices.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Reports on over 700 US and Canadian industries and some global industries.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
International statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
Vividata This link opens in a new window
Survey data on Canadians' usage of over 3500 products and services. See the Help section for tutorials and guides.

PitchBook

PitchBook has comprehensive information on global capital markets, research, insights for both public and private equity markets.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A simple to use statistics portal that integrates statistics from thousands of sources, on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes case studies, trends, company profiles, advertising spending statistics, economic data and consumer insight.

Government Information Sources

Destination BC: Industry Performance
Various performance indicators for Canada, BC and British Columbia’s six tourism regions.
Destination BC: Research & Insights
Includes research by region and market, as well as travel motivations for Canadian and US tourists.
go2. BC Tourism Industry Overview
Profile of the BC tourism industry, including value, employment needs, outlook
Travel and Tourism Statistics, Statistics Canada
Industry overview and statistics from the Government of Canada
U.S. International Trade Administration. National Tourism Office
Includes indicators and travel data, including travel forecasts, and data on international air travelers.
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation. Tourism
Information on the activities of the Tourism Working Group which is focused on creating sustainable tourism
World Tourism Organization
UN agency with a focus on international tourism policies and knowledge. Website includes information on tourism trends and marketing strategies
Destination Canada
Destination Canada regularly produces data, market intelligence and industry analysis to support strategic and operational decisions.

Using Google to find Government Resources

Did you know that you can limit your search in Google to government websites? Here are some examples.

Tip: Remember to try a few searches using different search words, to vary your results.

tourism site:gc.ca
(adding site:gc.ca searches only Canadian federal government websites)
"sustainable tourism" site:gc.bc.ca
(adding site:gov.bc.ca searches only BC government websites)
hospitality site:.gov
(adding site:.gov searches only U.S. government websites)