Related guides
-
Indigenous Health Sciences
by Xwi7xwa Library Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 6673 views this year
-
X̱wi7x̱wa Research Guides
by Xwi7xwa Library Last Updated Apr 28, 2025 1901 views this year
-
Decolonization & Anti-Racism
by Xwi7xwa Library Last Updated Oct 10, 2025 1778 views this year
UBC sites: Indigenous health
-
Indigenous FoundationsIntroduces key topics relating to the histories, politics and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. .
Databases
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovers the history & culture of Native North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, & literacy. Includes books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
-
Ethnic Diversity SourceA full-text database of journal articles, books, and primary sources that focus on various topics around ethnicity and race within the Americas.
-
iPortal : Indigenous Studies PortalThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) has over 25,000 records describing electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photos, archival resources, and maps relevant to Indigenous studies and communities.
-
Canada CommonsSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
-
Native Health DatabaseIndexes journal articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
-
Informit Indigenous CollectionCollection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.
Indigenous health journals
Commonly used health databases like Medline, Embase and CINAHL may miss important Indigenous health research. Consider also searching the specialized databases in the box above. Scopus is another good resource.
Some Indigenous-led journals are not indexed in any database - consider searching or browsing them directly via their websites. Find a selection of these journals which publish in health and related topics below.
-
Scopus Search citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
Search tips
Note that some databases may use outdated, even offensive terminology for Indigenous peoples.
Critical appraisal
-
X̱wi7x̱wa's Critical Indigenous Toolkit - 2021To assist researchers in critical Indigenous literacy and assessing a resource. Do not hesitate to email: xwi7xwa.library@ubc.ca for further assistance.
-
'In a good way': Brief Indigenous research standards checklistCritical appraisal tool from the 2019 article Experiences of the HIV Cascade of Care Among Indigenous Peoples: A Systematic Review (https://doi.org/10.1007/s10461-018-2372-2)
Indigenous cultural safety in healthcare
-
Building Cultural Safety and Humility for First Nations Clients into Pharmacy PracticeTwo free courses for pharmacy team members: 1. Cultivating Relationships and Creating Safer Spaces in Pharmacy for First Nations Clients 2. A Case-Based Approach for Pharmacy Teams on Providing CARE for First Nations Clients
-
Weaving RelationsCanvas course from UBC Faculty of Applied Science. "Weaving Relations explores Indigenous histories, people, and contexts, as well as settler colonialism in Canada, through the lens of Indigenous-Canadian relationships. The course considers how we got to where we are now, and how we can build a better future together. "
-
NCCIH Cultural Safety CollectionResources from the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
-
Indigenous Healthcare Education and Practice: Applying Digital Teaching and Learning Resources to the TRC’s Calls to ActionOpen access modules from Queen's University.
-
Indigenous Health EquityWebinar series targeted to public health professionals, from the University of Toronto Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Includes links to further Indigenous cultural safety modules developed by Cancer Care Ontario.
-
Indigenous Cultural Safety Collaborative Learning SeriesNational webinar series on Indigenous cultural safety in the health and social services.
-
Coming Together for Wellness: Supporting the Journey Toward Cultural Safety in B.C. PharmaciesGuide from FNHA and BC PharmaCare.
-
Indigenous Relations Behavioural Competencies17 competencies for BC Public Service employees.
-
Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis People of Canada (Tri-Council)The Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans - Chapter 9 is a framework for ethical conduct of research involving Aboriginal peoples. It's a joint policy of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).
