Research Help
Welcome
Welcome to the Japanese Studies Remote Resources page! This page provides quick links to electronic resources in Japanese studies available for UBC faculty and students. Check out also the regular Japanese Studies Resources guide for more complete listing of available resources.
Important Note: Some e-resources listed here are available for a limited time only. To support online teaching and research, the Library is offering limited subscription access. These resources are identified with a "Limited Time Only" note.
Questions? Please contact Tomoko Kitayama Yen, the Japanese Studies Librarian. Tomoko is available for one-on-one consultations via email, phone, or Zoom (e-conferencing tool; please ask for a link and password).
- Introduction for Japanese Language Learners: Meet Your Librarian
Reference Resources
- JapanKnowledge Lib (in Japanese) This link opens in a new windowCollection of Japanese reference resources such as translation dictionaries and encyclopedias. Also includes the full-text e-versions of Shin Nihon koten bungaku zenshū and select Tōyō bunko works.
- Kokushi daijiten This link opens in a new windowThe digitized version of all 15 volumes (17 books) of one of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history.
- National Institute of Japanese Literature Databases 国文学研究資料館電子資料館Offers various databases for research in Japanese literature and related areas.
Article Indexes
- CiNii : NII Ronbun Joho Nabigeta (in Japanese) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations for Japanese-language articles from all disciplines. Some full-text, as well as links to full-text.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present.
- 20-seiki Media Jōhō DētabēsuLIMITED TIME ONLY
The database covers newspaper and periodical titles published in Japan during the Occupation period (1945-1949). Those publications are in the Prange Collection, originally belonged to the Civil Censorship Detachment, a unit within GHQ, which covers a wide range of subjects: politics, economics, sociology, education, history, philosophy, religion, art, language, literature, etc.
Subscription ends: April 30, 2022 - Web OYA-bunkoLIMITED TIME ONLY
Web OYA-bunko indexes serial publications held by Ōya Sōichi Bunko, a periodical library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of approximately 12,000 popular journals. Coverage: 1988-present. Some coverage of pre-1988 articles available. Not full-text.
Subscription ends: March 31, 2022.
Newspaper Databases
- Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ This link opens in a new windowA newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from Aera, Shūkan Asahi, Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowThis database includes 毎日新聞 Mainichi Shinbun (newspaper) and 産経新聞 Sankei Shinbun (newspaper) among other Japanese resources. To browse Japanese sources, go to the "News Pages" tab and select "Japan" in the menu box on the top right-hand corner.
- Yomiuri Yomidasu Rekishikan This link opens in a new windowThis database includes full-text Yomiuri Shinbun articles from 1874 to the present, as well as the English-language The Daily Yomiuri from 1989.
E-Books
If you need library material that the library does not currently license in electronic format, or only has in Print, please send a request to Tomoko. If the requested material is for a course, please include your name, faculty, course number and date by which the material is needed.
The library is working to source Electronic versions of Print materials. The Japanese e-books are available on the following three platforms.
- Maruzen eBook LibraryOffers one of the largest collections of Japanese academic e-books. To search for titles in their collection, choose the "すべてのタイトルから検索" option on top of the search box.
If you would like an ebook title to be purchased, please email library.orders@ubc.ca or the Japanese Studies Librarian at tomoko.kitayama@ubc.ca.
- eBooks @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of e-books, with strengths in business information. Use for: finding ebooks on accounting, e-commerce, entrepreneurship, economics + global economy, finance + banking, management, etc.
- KinoDen: Kinokuniya Digital LibraryA cloud-based digital library service, KinoDen, Kinokuniya Digital Library offers multidisciplinary ebook selections from Japanese academic publishers.
If you would like an ebook title to be purchased, please email library.orders@ubc.ca or the Japanese Studies Librarian at tomoko.kitayama@ubc.ca.